Coquilles St. Jacques Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Okay, I've got this down now, I've made it a several times since my first review. Here are my changes...1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup light sour cream. I use Emmentaler swiss cheese melts very well and is cheaper than Gruyere. If I can't find button mushrooms I use regular sliced mushrooms. I add a little flour and water (before adding the scallops) to the sauce so it's not too runny. And very important...the bread crumbs. I use plain Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs...so much better than the fine bread crumbs and I squeeze a little lemon juice into the melted butter and Panko crumbs. Let the casserole stand for a few minutes after removing from the oven to allow the sauce to thicken. Better than any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Took other reviewers' advice and used mostly thick cream with just a spoon or so of mayo to make up the quantity. Apart from that, followed recipe exactly and it was fabulously good. The other half practically burst into song and said it was the best Coquilles St Jacques he'd ever had. What we both loved about it was that the balance of the wine in the sauce was perfect - sometimes restaurants use so much it's overpowering. Will definitely make again. And again. And again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Delicious! I followed the recipe the way it read the first time and modified it the next. It was unbelievably FANTASTIC this way: Bay scallops, 1/2 C. crumbled Ritz crackers and 1/3 C. Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the top, regular grated Swiss, cut the button mushrooms in 1/2 (instead of sliced ones), and cut down on the mayo slightly. Yum, yum, yum. 10 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My husband said this was the best Coquilles St. Jacques that he has ever had at home or in a fine restaurant. It is also the best I have ever made or eaten anywhere. Very rich and smooth with the wonderful nutiness of gruyere cheese. I plan to make this for dinner the next time I have good friends coming. Didn't rate it high for kids because of the onions and mushrooms. Kids don't know what's good. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The mayo taste can be overpowering. I substitute half the mayonnaise with a heavy cream or cream cheese and it is delicious. We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Hubs made this for us tonite and he said unless you want this swimming in mayonnaise and cheese cut back....on EVERYTHING - except the scallops, of course. So a weak three stars as written. If he cut back on everything to get this to taste as awesome good as it did then I'd take his advice, especially since neither Gruyere nor scallops are cheap. Whatever he did this was beyond 5-star delicious and decadent. Prepared in porcelain shell dishes, this was impressive and elegant as well as lip-smacking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I found the mayonnaise taste overwhelmed everything else in this recipe. Not something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
My husband LOVED this,,,he thought it was restaurant material! Some changes I made though. I used 6 jumbo scallops (the bigger ones I halved) because I was afraid the smaller ones would overcook and get to rubbery. I seared them, then I used a splash of apple juice in place of wine, 1 tblspn of mayo ONLY, marble cheese (that is all I had) and some parmesean. Once that all blended together, turn off the heat, add the scallops and a splash of cream....maybe 2-3 tblspns. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was an awesome dish!! I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms, because my uncle is allergic and I used bay scallops instead of the sea scallops. It was perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These were very good. I have a hard time finding recipes both my husband and I like, but we both really enjoyed this one. I couldn't find the cheese that was called for so I used baby swiss - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coquilles Saint-Jacques

See how to make a classic scallop dish with a rich, rich sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States