Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
No, I haven't and won't Coq Au Vin done in 1.5 hours? 1 you put your cut up chicken and veggies in a GOOD French red wine or burgundy over night or longer. Yes, your chicken looks OMG purple. 2. you need 2 pans, bacon, fry your purple chicken in the bacon fat with 1 tbl olive oil about 8 mins per side. Strain veggies from wine. Take chicken out add the wine veggies brown , whisk 2 tbl flour to veggies, add chicken broth, herbs, chicken again soft boil 30 mins. In another pan do your pearl onions and mushrooms. etc etc etc. Purple chicken, how funny. Making my Coq Au Vin now, I'll upload a photo. coq au vin is not done in 1.5 hrs, if you do right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Used thighs instead of breasts, browned 3 pieces real bacon in butter and olive oil (1 TBSP each) instead of bacon bits, omitted parsley - I just don't like it - but otherwise followed recipe. A good quick dish when served with homemade fresh pasta and a nice glass of matching wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made this for a girls night in the other night and got rave reviews! Served with buttered herbed redskinned mashed potatoes and it put it over the top. One suggestion that I have is when it comes time for the flour rue, use a 1/4-1/2 cup of versus the 1/8c it calls for. It does not take away from the red wine "twang" at all and makes for a wonerful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This has just the perfect balance of flavors and spices. We added some potatoes and served with fresh bakery bread. I can't remember the last time my own cooking tasted so gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My family had no idea what this dish was, now they request it by name. Guess they liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granite Shoals, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I have to disagree with Vorcha...this is coq au vin, which is exactly that...chicken in wine. While it may not be Julia Child's Coq Au Vin recipe, any recipe that has chicken stewing in a wine broth is coq au vin. It is a translation, not a brand name. With regards to this recipe, while it is not Julia Child's recipe, for someone on a budget with a short amount of time who wants to give their family a developed taste for cuisine, this is more than adequate. I added celery to my recipe, and used a white zinfindel, but otherwise, the seasoning creates a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYFERN31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It had a very unique yet enjoyable taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made a rendition of this tonight. I looked it up to see what herbs went in. I browned white chicken tenders in butter/oliver oil. I coated them with herbs, parsley, rosemary,thyme all dried. I took them out after browning & put 1 carton of sliced mushrooms in & browned them. I took them out & added more herbs, a little butter,some garlic and 1 cup red wine. I let that simmer,added thickner. (flour & water) & added the cooked mushrooms The finally added the cooked chicken. It was awesome ( no veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acc Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is the first time I have made Coq au vin. I took the suggestion of others here and cooked up some bacon and browned the chicken in the renderings. I have to say I was a bit disapointed in the results of this recipe. The sauce didn't have much depth and while the chicken was tender it was not very flavorful. I think I will try this again sometime but not use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was disappointing. The only thing I changed was to use crumbled real bacon instead of bacon bits, and skinned leg quarters instead of boneless breasts. Certainly not what I expected from eating this dish in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States