Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
this is the best! it's my new favorite meal, honestly. and it makes it ten times better if you serve it with rice, and i don't even add in the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Sounds like it was written by a really good cook, someone who knows what happens to chicken when white meat is overcooked. I'll give this recipe an A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
Give youself some time and space, this recipe wants to use all the kitchen... But the end result is wel worth the effort. 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
THis was very tasty, even my picky eaters like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Delicious, especially on this early fall night. I didn't have sausages, so I threw in some sage and thyme. I also slow-cooked it for about an hour -- I like the meat falling off the bone -- and served it over pasta (like Italian goulash!) and more mushrooms. Do have bread on hand to mop up the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
I used diced tomatoes with roasted garlic -- tasted great as left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Like others, I feel that this takes a little longer to cook, but it is great. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I really impressed my family with this one. My mom said "Wow, it's gourmet like!". Fiance said it's so yummy even if he doesn't like wine! This is great! I served it with a tossed salad and creamy mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This was excellent. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and diced Italian Style tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I agree with other reviewers who said to be sure and use a big pan. I used a stock pot - better too big than too small! I served it with mashed potatos and a salad and it made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Great flavor. I tried using turkey sausage (Italian) to cut down on the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States