Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Delicious, especially on this early fall night. I didn't have sausages, so I threw in some sage and thyme. I also slow-cooked it for about an hour -- I like the meat falling off the bone -- and served it over pasta (like Italian goulash!) and more mushrooms. Do have bread on hand to mop up the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This was excellent. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and diced Italian Style tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I agree with other reviewers who said to be sure and use a big pan. I used a stock pot - better too big than too small! I served it with mashed potatos and a salad and it made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
this is the best! it's my new favorite meal, honestly. and it makes it ten times better if you serve it with rice, and i don't even add in the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
Give youself some time and space, this recipe wants to use all the kitchen... But the end result is wel worth the effort. 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Sounds like it was written by a really good cook, someone who knows what happens to chicken when white meat is overcooked. I'll give this recipe an A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
THis was very tasty, even my picky eaters like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
I used diced tomatoes with roasted garlic -- tasted great as left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Like others, I feel that this takes a little longer to cook, but it is great. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I really impressed my family with this one. My mom said "Wow, it's gourmet like!". Fiance said it's so yummy even if he doesn't like wine! This is great! I served it with a tossed salad and creamy mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Great flavor. I tried using turkey sausage (Italian) to cut down on the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States