Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
SCORE for Richard! This meal rocks, and I am so glad I found it here! I used a 9 qt. coated cast iron pot, which after reading the raters, I knew it would need. I used a 4# bag of boneless skinless thighs, so easy and less fat. I added all the 5 link pack of sweet Italian sausage, just because I didn't want to freeze the two left over. I like lots of sauce, so I added two cans of diced Italian tomatoes instead of one. I think it's very important to add that after you brown the chicken and the sausage, when you add the liquids you need to scrape the browned bits off the bottom of the pot while you stir. I don't care for rosemary, so added dried thyme in it's place. Also, after simmering 25 minutes, I uncovered, skimmed off the fat, and simmered another 30 minutes uncovered till the chicken was tender, but not mush. I also doubled the mushrooms just because we all love mushrooms in my family. When it was done, I added a slurry of 1 Tbl. cornstarch in 1/4 C. cold water and added while stirring the pot. This gave it a thick smooth consistency which stuck to the egg noodles very nicely. My husband and sons raved! I will be making this for company or family get togethers, for sure. Thank you soooooooooo much on your very different but delicious twist on Coq au Vin!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Superb dish! This should get more than five stars. Used chicken thighs and followed the recipe to the letter. My husband thought it was excellent and could not stop talking about it all night. Served in a bowl with some crusty French bread to mop up the sauce. The flavors were incredible. Recipe was easy to prepare. This was a perfect fall dish. Next time I am going to add more Italian sausage. (I used scissors to cut each link into slices). Left the skins on so there was a little bit of oiliness but my husband liked it that way and think the skin added to the rich flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
GREAT RECIPE!!! My 'twist' on it: I put 1 cup of wine in a saucepan and simmered until alcohol was evaporated. I did not flour and precook the chicken...I just added all raw ingredients plus the wine into my crockpot and turned on high for 3 hours. When the chicken was done, I made a roux of flour and water and whisked it into the crockpot. Just prior to serving I mixed in 1/3 cup of parmesean cheese. Served over mashed potatoes. SO SO SO D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Super tasty, great if you are looking for a nice dinner to impress with. I used boneless chicken breast, not a dark meat fan. First time I left the breasts whole and served with garlic mashed potatoes. Second time I cut the chicken into bite size pieces and served it over pasta. Great both ways!! Does make a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This went over very well at dinner tonight. And I even made a little mistake while cooking this. I split this into 2 pans on the stove-top and used 1 can of tomatoes (which I used diced tomatoes opposed to the whole ones) to each pan, but forget to double the already prepared ingredients (didn't know I was going to wind up using 2 cans). Next time when I make it this way, I will leave the carrots out completely (personal preference), add extra mushrooms, onion and garlic, and add some sliced zuccini and maybe some sliced black olive for color. When the chicken was done, I removed the chicken and sausage from the pan and added a little flour/water mixture to thicken the sauce up. Served this with pasta (smothered in the sauce from the chicken of course!) and stuffed artichokes! The whole family went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I have made this several times and my family absolutely loves it. The flavor is wonderful. My husband requests this several times a month. It is easy and if there were ever any left it would make great leftovers. I use boneless skinless chicken thighs, and cook much longer than the recipe calls for, probably another hour or so. That way the meat absolutely falls apart and the sauce really soaks into it. I usually omit the carrots, to help lower the carbs. For my husband who doesn't have to watch his carbs, I serve over rice. Great job, richard, Thanks for our family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Delicious, especially on this early fall night. I didn't have sausages, so I threw in some sage and thyme. I also slow-cooked it for about an hour -- I like the meat falling off the bone -- and served it over pasta (like Italian goulash!) and more mushrooms. Do have bread on hand to mop up the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This was excellent. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and diced Italian Style tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I agree with other reviewers who said to be sure and use a big pan. I used a stock pot - better too big than too small! I served it with mashed potatos and a salad and it made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
A great twist on the classic coq au vin made with bacon. I lightened it up by using well trimmed skinless, boneless chicken breasts and turkey sausage. I also thickened the sauce a little with cornstarch. Great over whole wheat pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I scaled this recipe down for two and omitted the wine (I didn't have any). It was absolutely delicious! I will definately make it again but will add the wine next time. I also thought about adding cubed apples to the sauce instead of carrots...worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States