Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
EXCEPTIONALLY good! Being Italian, I am VERY picky about my food - even my Mother came back for thirds. THANKS Richard - now, do you have a recipe for Lamb Shanks???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very flavorful, yet pretty simple. I was afraid the wine sauce would turn off my 10 year old, but she loved it and smothered her mashed potatoes with it. Some simply sauteed swiss chard from the garden completed the meal. I did use a teaspoon of minced fresh rosemary for the 1/2 tsp. dried. Also, I had to brown the chicken in batches and then remove it from the pan while I sauteed the sausage and vegetables. I then returned it to the pan and finished cooking the dish. I used mixed chicken parts and the white meat was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fanwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was a wonderful dish. My mom asked me for the recipe. I used bone-in skin-on thighs and I recommend that. Next time I will leave the sausage pieces bigger. So fast, so easy, so delicious! I served it with spaghetti. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was incredible! I used boneless skinless thighs, next time I will try breast. served with mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes made it low carb friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Loved this! I followed other people's advice: used a larger pot, cooked longer. I left out the sausage as I didn't have any. A tip that may or may not have affected the recipe: I reduced (simmered on low) the wine while prepping everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was delicious - i didn't and wouldn't change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
When I first saw this recipe I was intruiged. I had never heard of it, so I did some research on its origins and what to serve with it. I was a hit with my mother-in-law's birthday. However, I added a few more vegetables and used some 5 day old wine. Next time I will use a little more salt and open a fresh bottle of wine. We voted five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
So delicious and savory - this was an instant hit with my boyfriend and I. I now have a giant potful of delicious coq au vin that I will be eager to eat as leftovers. The only changes I made was to use 3 lbs of chicken thigh meat (instead of 4), and I also used kielbasa sausage that is not sweet. The rest is as. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fantastic!! This was sooo yummy, I made it exactly as the recipe said but used diced tomatoes and venison sausage (because that's all I had in the house. Then served it over a mound of mashed potatoes and green beans, even my pickiest eater licked the plate clean! Would definitely recommend and will definitely make again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States