Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
A hit! I added more veggies which were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Update: used BSCB and turkey Italian sausage; added cut-up red potatoes with skins. Double OMG. Original: OMG! This was sooooo good! I don't usually cook with any kind of chicken except boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but decided to try the dark chicken for a change. (BSCB can get b-o-r-i-n-g.) Well, I bought a package of chicken thighs, bone-in. Wow. I don't know if my package was any different, but I ended up trimming a lot, eventually ending up with about 25% waste (skin and fat). So, I decided to use half chicken thighs and half BSCB. The only other change (that I can recall) was that I crumbled the sausage instead of slicing. Served with garlic mashed potatoes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The flavor was very good...I would do a few things different...I will leave out the carrots (just not fond of them) I wont dredge the chicken in flour and I will cut up the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The juice was the best used chibata bread for mopping will be making again but will remove the chicken from the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yummy & easy. Even my picky eater liked it. I would make it again and even for company. It would be very easily made ahead and reheated. The flavor was 5 stars, but the directions were closer to 3 so I am giving it an overall 4. I browned the sausage 1st, removed from pan and quartered, then the chicken, removed from pan, deglazed with a tiny bit of the wine and then browned the onions and mushrooms. Added everything back in and then added carrots, wine, etc. Reduced the sauce and thikened it with a beurre manie so it was more like thin gravy. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very tasty. I did leave out the mushrooms but that was because my husband hates them. I cooked it in the crock pot all day. I threw everything in except for the wine I added at the last hour also I used white wine because that is what I had on hand, it worked just fine. I served it over creamy polenta. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great recipe. Has a nice flavor of coq au vin but with a twist. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes and put in a little extra by the way of mushrooms, since I like them in sauces. It came out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I did this just as it was written, except for fresh tomatoes from our garden and I cooked it in the crock pot. Terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
WOW! kids, adults- we all loved it and it made a great hearty meal. I substituted smoked turkey sausage for the sweet italian (I don't eat pork) and served with egg noodles. Next time I will make mashed potatoes to soak up more of the incredible sauce! Thanks for sharing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was AWESOME...I love the smell of the red wine, rosemary and garlic all simmering together. I used chicken thighs and one chicken breast since I prefer the white meat. Also, used spicy italian turkey sausage. I browned them first in olive oil and garlic, took them out and then sauteed the vegetables and added all the meat back in. This is a great meal to serve company and have them think you spent hours in the kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States