Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe was great . I made it for a birthday dinner. Instead of simmering for 35 min I put everything in a baking dish and put in the over on 300 for an hour. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
So Yummy. However no one has a skillet this big!? So I cooked all the meat and veggies in separate batches, then put all of it in a cast iron pot, put it in the oven at 400 for about 40 minutes. (I preheated the pot and tomatoes at 400 while browning everything else, that way it didn't cool down and sped up the oven time). The sausage really makes this special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Didn't have carrots and mushrooms but followed the rest. Used mild Italian turkey sausage. Kay Morrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Morrow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
AWESOME!!! This was sooooo delicious! My fiance & I were homebodies today. Being at home lent itself perfectly to making a slow cooked meal (not to mention that I was gifted w/ a 6.5 qt. Le Creuset dutch oven for Christmas!) - and boy was this a winner!!! :-) I did change things up a bit, tho. I followed STARDUST's cooking direct. w/ the except. of 1 step... After browning my sausage & veggies, I deglazed my pan w/ a about 1/8 c. of wine (I used a Chiraz). I then added my UNDRAINED tomatoes (Italian-seasoned diced) / remaining wine, & proceeded as direct. My only other changes were to 1/2 the recipe, use thyme instead of rosemary (personal preference) & add 1 T cornstarch dissolved in 1 T (cold) H2O at the very end in order to thicken. I purchased a 1.5 lb. pkg. of 2 bone-in split chx. breasts & used my local Italian grocer's homemade HOT Italian sausage for some kick (which was plenty for the 2 of us). My only suggestion for next time would be to omit the mushrooms alltogether (I used baby portabellas, but realize that it doesn't matter WHICH variety I use, I hate them all!!!) & sub. w/ more carrots. I just love the sweetness they add to the dish! Oh, and I ended up browning my chx. for 8 min. instead of the recommended 4-5 min. Served over garlic mashed potatoes (i.e. refrigerated Country Crock) w/ French baugettes on the side. Next time, I'm going to make my fancy Gruyere taters (yum, yum!). Thx. SO much for sharing your version of a wonderful classic, Richard. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fabulous! Last night was the second time I have made this. Boneless skinless thighs, doubled the mushrooms (chunks of portabello) 2 cans of Hunt's Diced Italian tomatoes. Cooked for about an hour. Richard....this one is out of the park!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Good flavors. The sausage turned a very dark not-very-pretty color, but tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Wonderful winter night meal. I will give it five stars because the flavor was really there. Only thing I changed is just used less chicken. Cooked the sausage first, chicken then vegetables and combined everything together and simmered on low heat for about 1 hour. Better even the 2nd day -- served over garlic mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. As other people suggested, I cooked the sausage, chicken and vegetables in stages before putting them all together to simmer in a big pot. I used hot Italian sausage and we spooned this dish over buttered egg noodles--excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good. Added more spices and carrots/onions than called for. Made in stages, as others described. First browned sausage, then browned chicken, then cooked veggies before adding everything back into a stockpot to cook. Chicken was done in about 45 minutes this way. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was SO good. Per other reviews, I adjusted as follows: browned the sausage, removed, browed the cut up , flour coated chicken, removed, then sauteed the veggies. Put everything together & simmered 1 hr. I cut the recipe in half but left the wine & tomatos for the full recipe. I wouldn't have wanted less liquids. Served with mashed potatos. Half a recipe was MORE than enough for 3 adults, with a lot of leftovers. Next time, I'll use hot Italian sausage just for a little heat and serve with Garlic Mashed. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States