Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty! My only change was 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of one can of whole. I used b/s thighs so there was no grease that others have mentioned. Served over mashed potatoes with lots of bread for sopping up the juices. Oh- and by using turkey sausage it was a pretty healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was very good using canned italian flavored diced tomatos and adding a little extra italian seasonings to the chicken before I coated it with flour. I think without that it would not have been quite as much flavorfull. I used white wine instead of red and used a water/cornstarch mixture to thicken the sauce. Served over extra wide egg noodles...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
this was awesome and really easy, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This smelled wonderful while it was cooking. But the taste was bland and a little off, I am not sure if it was the wine or something else. I do not think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe! I've never had a traditional Coq Au Vin, but this was so easy and delicious. I made the recipe as is (just thickened up the sauce at the end with a little corn starch and water) and served it stew style with some whole wheat bread! My family and I both thought there was plenty of sauce. This one's a keeper, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I substituted summer squash and zuccini for the carrots and thickened the sauce with the left over seasoned flour I dredged the chicken in. After reading previous reviews, I made sure to serve french bread as a savory sauce sweeper. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New London, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious recipe. Super easy and quick to prepare. I served it with pasta which was okay but I guess it would be (much) better with a creamy herbed pollenta...*sigh* well for next time anyway !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I must admit I left out the Italian sausage, but otherwise followed this recipe to the letter. The flavors melded perfectly, and I found the preparation to be very simple. I chose to serve this with cornbread stuffing, as we aren't potato people. Would be simple to increase for a large winter's meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner last night. I used hot sausage instead of sweet, as my husband loves anything hot. I browned the chicken and sausage in different pans, and then combined them in a pot with the remaining ingredients. I usually serve my chicken with rice, but served it on mashed potatoes, as suggested. It was fabulous! My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe was great . I made it for a birthday dinner. Instead of simmering for 35 min I put everything in a baking dish and put in the over on 300 for an hour. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States