Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
4/11 follow what janice did but keep ingredients the same. i used petite diced tomatoes. very good, larry really really liked this. i used keilbasa and browned it with the chicken...gave it a nice flavor and 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs. very tender. will make again. 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't like this much. My husband and I both thought the flavors didn't work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I've made this about a dozen times. Absolutely perfect. Usually serve it with mashed potatoes or mashed sweet potatoes and wilted spinach sauteed with minced garlic and onions. I add a sprinkle of lavender to the recipe to give it an herbs Provencal flavor. Delicious every time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made mashed potatoes and steamed chard to go with it ... quite a filling meal; lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Just like my Mom's! Depending on the size of the apple, you may need only one. I used a very large Pink Lady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Possum Kingdom Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent. Used the exact recipe. For the meat used drumsticks. Will try thighs next time. The Italian Sausage is the most expensive ingredient, and, if cost is critical, could be replaced with a teaspoon of sweet paprika. The rest I would do the same, next time. It's really easy to prepare. While you are cooking, the house smell good too. Maybe it's just the wine :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strauss44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious! real comfort food, perfect for a cold fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent! I made this for the family last night and they loved it. I used close to 4# of boneless chicken thighs but I had to brown the chicken in two batches since my largest pan was only 5qt. I followed the recipe to the letter except I used a larger can of the tomatoes. When it was done I poured it over rice and made homemade Buttermilk biscuits to go with it. What a great dish! I am going to add more sausage next time at my family's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
WOW! I can't explain how much I love this recipe! I made it exactly as written the first time, it was wonderful! Now I've evolved to substituting browned whole baby onions (Julia Child, thanks!), browned small whole mushrooms, 1 can Italian flavored diced tomatoes. I have made this with red cooking wine - it was great. Chianti - it was great. Burgandy - OMG excellent! Syrah - it was OK. Cabernet - OMG excellent! This is definitely - both one to keep and to share with friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONA64

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was excellent. I used fresh tomatoes as that is what I had. I added a splash of chicken stock to make up for the lack of juice from the canned tomatoes. I also used boneless chicken breasts, again what I had on hand, and reduced the simmer to 20 minutes. This is going in to the definate 'do'er again' pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States