Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made recipe as written and it was very good. Served over mashed potatoes the first night and stuffing the next night. Definitely liked mashed potatoes more. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was amazing! Ended up simmering for over an hour as we entertained our guests and it still earned raves from all. Left out carrots (they were in my side) and used the italian style diced tomatoes. Tough to stir because pan was very full but a couple stirs does it. Served with wild rice and a medley of steamed veggies. I was told it looked very elegant. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added celery in one inch slices which I wanted to get out of the fridge. I forgot about slicing the sausage first so I just broke it into small crumbles which I think added more flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Prefer it with white wine, and thyme as well as rosemary (just a little bit of each). With some nice crusty bread, this makes for a hearty comforting meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
After reading thru many of the reviews (didn't quite have the stamina for all 160+) here was my take. 1/2 the meat, everything else the same. 2 Italian (Tuscan)links cut in half long-ways, then into slices browned in about 3 tbsp EVOO and removed from pot. 3 BSCB pounded to an even thickness, cut in half and shaken in a bag with flour, poultry seasoning s&p and browned in the EVOO & sausage drippings, then removed and covered. Add garlic and 1.5 cups wine (Cab Sauv), 1/4 cup chicken stock and cook 2 minutes while scraping up the browned bits from the pan. Add tomatoes (diced Italian), onion, carrots, mushrooms and Thyme (more traditional for Coq au Vin than Rosemary). Returned Sausage ONLY to pot, covered and simmered for 40 minutes. S&P to taste. Add chicken back to pot (with any drippings) and simmer for additional 30 minutes. Added a quick slurry of the remaining flour and water. Served with mashed potatoes and good French Bread. Reviews ranged from good to excellent, with an avg. rating of 4 stars. Your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
What a lovely stew! I used the larger 28oz can of tomatoes because that's what I had on hand, but otherwise I was faithful to the recipe. I simmered it longer to reduce the broth, and served it in bowls over oven roasted dutch yellow potatoes. A great fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made with a cut-up whole chicken, and it was delicious. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The recipe is fine, but I didn't LOVE it. It was good, but certainly not the best meal I have ever had. Just my preference, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I LOVE THIS DISH! I used a cheap $2 wine from Trader Joe's, left out the mushrooms (don't like them), and used fresh rosemary from my garden. It came out tasting awesome, was easy and fun to make. Got tipsy from drinking the wine while cooking :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I cooked this minus the red wine, didn't have any on hand, used white wine & chicken broth combo, we did not care for this taste. We prefer simpler flavors, I think. In my opinion, maybe sometimes too many ingredients ruins a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States