Cool Whipped Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This gets five stars because it tastes great on many different cakes and it is sooo simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We LOVE this as the topping to all our cakes! I've read some of the reviews where there has been a problem with the consistency of this, but I have seemed to solve that. I use beaters to stir the pudding mixture and then right when you can tell its starting to thicken I put in the cool whip. The recipe says "gently fold it in" but I use the beaters to whip the cool whip in also. Perfect every time! I get a nice thick whipped topping. I am so happy to have something in the place of too sweet frosting. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I notice that at least one person kind of shunned making icing out of a cool whip base. But I have to say, if it tastes good, then what difference does it make? I made this to frost my boyfriend's birthday cake (the cake was chocolate), as he hates the store-bought icing. We both thought it was quite tasty, and it wasn't so heavy like the pre-made icing. So I say, if you're short on time (or if you don't have a hand mixer to whip your own cream at the moment), there's no shame in taking a short cut, especially one that has good-tasting results. This recipe also inspired me to try out other flavors of icing in the future by using a different flavor of pudding, like pistachio. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was delicious! I love it! And I'm not an icing person. Regular ones are too sweet. Yours was a bit too watery so I changed it a bit. Here's the ricipe I used: 1 container cool whip, thawed. 1 Package instant white chocolate pudding mix. 1/2 cup milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
After reading reviews I was kinda hesitant to use this recipe. I made said frosting as directed and after tasting it, realized what previous reviewers were referring to as "artificial" taste :P -- It was not a pleasing flavor. BUT! I added the entire 16 oz. tub of cool whip....VOILA! Perfect frosting for a poke cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Awesome - will use with most cakes from now on. Much better than store bought icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
my kids love it they want cupcakes every weekend now!! i think it turned out better the next day it firmed up more!! hope you ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
will use this on all my cakes from now on. This is not to sweet but that is the way we like it at this house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Awesome recipe. You can change it up so many different ways. I usedseveral kind of pudding. The cream cheese pudding ended up being our family favorite. This frosting is very light and whippy. I did use slightly less milk so that it was a little thicker. Even with doing this it is not a dense heavy frosting. Also added 1tsp vanilla to bring out flavor a little more. Piped different variations of this frosting on different kinds of cupcakes for my daughter's birthday. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used this frosting on my coconut creme cake. It came across as slightly cheesy, which I didn't really understand why. Once I sprinkled toasted coconut on the frosting it wasn't too bad. After allowing the frosting to sit for a couple days in the fridge (it was on the cake), the frosting not only tasted cheesy, it also became somewhat salty. Thus, I am assuming this frosting is not meant to sit for long but is meant to be eaten quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States