Cool Whipped Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Awesome recipe. You can change it up so many different ways. I usedseveral kind of pudding. The cream cheese pudding ended up being our family favorite. This frosting is very light and whippy. I did use slightly less milk so that it was a little thicker. Even with doing this it is not a dense heavy frosting. Also added 1tsp vanilla to bring out flavor a little more. Piped different variations of this frosting on different kinds of cupcakes for my daughter's birthday. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used this frosting on my coconut creme cake. It came across as slightly cheesy, which I didn't really understand why. Once I sprinkled toasted coconut on the frosting it wasn't too bad. After allowing the frosting to sit for a couple days in the fridge (it was on the cake), the frosting not only tasted cheesy, it also became somewhat salty. Thus, I am assuming this frosting is not meant to sit for long but is meant to be eaten quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Loved it & didn't change a thing. Used as an icing for another recipe on this site, "Fourth of July Ice Cream Cake". Tasted great & held up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great frosting, so easy. We had the cake in the fridge for days, and the frosting held up really well. Much better than just using cool whip on its own and tastes better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Awesome! Toped a jello poke cake with this, and it was great! Had some extra, and just ate it as pudding, also an awesome little treat! Yuuumy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I topped a cake with this for July 4th. I have a chronicly overweight extended family and decided to try this as a healthy option for them. I chose to use cheesecake pudding mix for variety and fat free cool whip. I am not a fan of fat free concoctions, but this was very very good! They thought so too! I was the most popular of the 3 cakes we had. I will definitely keep this recipe as a healthier alternative!! It may not be buttercream frosting, but it sure as heck doesn't have tons of shortening in it!! I read other reviews about it being watery?? It is soft... maybe not a good idea for layered cakes. I had my cake sitting at room temp (around 72degreesF) throughout an entire day and the frosting held up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was really tasty and creamy. I used chocolate instead, because I prefer it. I had a hard time getting the cake to not get in the frosting as I was spreading it, but i don't blame the recipe for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Tastes great. I used Jello brand sugar free vanilla flavored pudding mix -- it yielded a light yellow color. Just an FYI. I have no idea how that color compares to the regular sugar version. Thanks for the recipe :=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe as is. Ended up with a bitter after taste from the vanilla extract. Had I not used the vanilla would have given 5 stars. I was hoping the vanilla would give it and extra vanilla flavored punch. Overall, great recipe, I'm just not going to put in the vanilla next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I love this frosting. It is perfect for summer. I use it for all of my Angel Food cakes. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States