Cool Whipped Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am a food snob & everyone I know knows that about me but even I know that if you're making a recipe that includes cool whip, it's going to taste like cool whip! It's entirely unfair to rate these types of recipes as if you expected something gourmet. This is a great, easy thing to whip up that you can top cupcakes with or use as a quick mousse. I'm not a fan of cool whip at all & rarely use it but my daughter likes to bake & she loves mousse so we've done this one several times & it's always a hit & so versatile too. We used it to top the Simple White Cake from this sight that we made into cupcakes & we have also subbed the milk for dark chocolate almond milk & it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Use canned EVAPORATED milk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! I followed the super easy instructions and ended up with a light, fluffy, & delicious frosting. My favorite part is how it's not too sweet. Yum!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmeraldCityGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I tried this twice and both times it was horribly runny. Both times I used slightly less milk than the recipe called for. Also, this had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
It was good. I agree a little more whipped topping flavor and less pudding flavor would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Super easy and delicious too. My family doesn't like traditional frosting. This is the perfect recipe for us. I used this for a double layer cake. Holds up well to decorating. Also works well with the natural food coloring that I used. Will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very easy to make, almost no effort. My husband really enjoyed this frosting on cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love this! Made it 3 times now. I used 8 oz Lite Cool whip, small box chocolate pudding mix, 3/4 cup skim milk, & 1 tsp vanilla, used on my usual rich chocolate sheet cake. Family loved the frosting, couldn't tell what it was made of, only that it was light tasting and good. Way better than canned frosting, which is too sweet (that's saying a lot as I have a sweet tooth!). I can't taste Cool Whip in it, but I do like Cool Whip to begin with. (Oh, I made this once using sugar free chocolate pudding mix, didn't care for that one as much myself, but Hubby loved it) Those of you who want natural ingredients and don't like Cool Whip, well, you probably shouldn't be trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is one of the best frostings. I got two puddings and 2 cool whips in hopes of making two cakes. The first batch I made was way too runny for piping so I decided to make the second batch with only 1/2 cup milk. This was too thick for my liking. So I combined the two batches together and it was perfect. I found out very quickly that I could not frost the two cakes I panned on making. I made a two layer cake and also used the frosting for the filling. I had to go very thin on my cake so I had enough to pipe with. This worked for this cake because I used crumbled cookies for the sides and cherry pie filling for the top. So other than desired consistancy and the amount wanted, this frosting tasted fantastic. When I read other reviews I had to laugh. If you dont want your frosting to tastes like cool whip or pudding, then do not pick a recipe that only has cool whip and pudding as its ingredients. Just a suggestion :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a fantastically easy recipe! I wanted to make a light, fluffy frosting to use on some cupcakes. I wanted to use my decorator bag to make a swirl on the tops with the frosting and this fit the bill. As I was making it, I realized I made a huge mistake! I didn't wait for the cool whip to defrost completely, I just put it in a bowl with the milk and mixed it with a hand mixer. So much for gently folding it in! Oops! I just added the pudding mix (only had chocolate) and it still turned out great. Not sure if the consistency would be any different had I done it properly, but this worked for what I wanted it for anyway. We even splurged and ate TWO cupcakes which I NEVER do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States