Cool Whip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years...Tips chill the dough about an hour - it's easier to handle. Add 1/2 C flour. Let them bake 8-12 minutes, checking at 8,10&12 minutes - the bottoms should be golden brown. Pull the cookie sheets out and let the cookies rest on the sheets for a few minutes. Do not keep in the oven because you think these are not done - cause they are! They will harden up as they sit on the sheets and cool down. YUMMO!!! I also have tried with sugar free cool-whip - less calores and it's still just so gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
You can use ANY packaged cake mix, and you can even use dry brownie mix. You can also get creative with what kind of sugar mix you use to roll the dough into. My friend made a mix of sugar and splenda and ground it up to mimic the texture of powdered sugar and the cookies were fabulous! For as easy as this is to make, the cookies taste better than I've had in a long time, AND they always remain moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My grandma would make these all the time when I was little. She would use also use white cake mix with 3 egg whites and then add food coloring to the batter. (ie., red and green for Christmas) She would also make ahead and freeze. (freeze no longer than 2 months. let thaw in fridge for 24 hours) I'm so glad to see this recipe out here! Brings back wonderful memories of baking with grandma so long ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong, but 8 minutes was not long enough... I actually had to double the time, so if anyone tries this, you might want to do a small test batch... Other than tha, these cookies taste great, and are easy to make :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
These are sooooo good! I chilled the dough, and then scooped it with one spoon and scraped it into the powdered sugar with a second spoon. They WERE good ~ gone now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Easy to make and has a great texture. I too had to play around with the baking time a bit. I wound up baking the cookies for 14 minutes and they turned out great. I made this with chocolate cake mix as I was out of lemon. Can't wait to try it with lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
definitely a cake like cookie, but HEY, whe n you're using a cake mix I guess that's a natural. I found it too difficult to take the sticky thick dough and roll it in confectioners sugar so I dusted the cookie with 10X after baking. You don't get the crackle look but the taste is still there. You could call these cookies muffin tops and for those of you who are Seinfeld fans, this is a good basis for a black and white cookie...just mix up two batches of icing one choco and one vanilla and brush half the cookie with each...Look to the Cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I made with orange cake mix, but we loved this light, soft cookie! It was perfect to make with my 2-year-old. Thanks for a wonderfully simple recipe! Will make tons more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These cookies are just what I expected, like the gourmet ones at a chic restaurant in my area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oktaha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Love these cookies, they are so easy and make so many! I made the dough in advance, froze it and then let them thaw for a day before actually baking, then I got a cookie scoop (like a melon baller or small ice cream scoop) and used that to drop them in the powdered sugar! Worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States