Cool Whip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Kneads Speed Runner
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were absolutely delicious! I used red velvet cake mix to make these more festive for the holidays, and everyone raved about them. I put mine in the oven for about 9 minutes, and the recipe actually made about 50 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneads Speed Runner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Tried this recipe today with the exception of adjusting the oven temperature to 325 because I have a convection over. I also used parchment paper to prevent sticking. The cookie really needs to bake until golden brown to give it a crunchy texture and prevent sticking. They also have a "cakey" texture when not cooked long enough. Nice flavor. Simple ingredients. Not sure if I will bake them again, but still a nice cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I searched this recipe in Google, and this was the first one to come up! We had everything to make these cookies in our pantry/refrigerator, so I went and got everything. It was going OK, until I found out that the dough is NOT thick, it is rather sticky and gooey. You may need to add [a lot] of Confectioner's sugar to help this not stick, or just chill it. These cookies look so yummy, but I wish this person would've said something about having to chill it! And you can also use any kind of cake mix.... for me, I used Betty Crocker's Triple Chocolate Fudge. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss.pastry.chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Hmm, not sure where to go with these. First off they were a pain in the behind to make. I thought my mixer was going to blow up, lol. Just that reason makes me not want to bother with them again. As far as the taste..it was ok. Like another reviewer said, its like eating cake in a cookie. That is if you cook em long enough. If cooked for a shorter time, they turn out very soft/sticky. I liked them better that way but they were difficult to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Wow! Very sweet. And lemony, though. Very easy, too. The batter is very sticky, so it was a bit difficult to coat in confectioner's sugar but I prevailed. They turn out pretty and very gooey in the center, but I'm sure they'll harden. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made them for a cookie party and they were great!!! I used Red Velvet cake mix and then I used the faux Oreo frosting and made mini Red Velvet cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicamariez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Momence, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These were so easy and very good. I could stop eating them. will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I received rave reviews from BF on these cookies. They were very easy and quick to make. To alleviate the problem of overly-sticky dough mentioned by some reviewers, I threw the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes prior to scooping and rolling in the sugar mixture. Had no trouble at all by doing this. I used yellow cake mix and added crushed gingerbread cookies to my batter. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Rather disappointed by this recipe. When everything was mixed together, it wasn't very thick. The taste was ok, but definitetly not something I will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We loved these cookies. Just like others have said, we also had to adjust the baking time. We did have trouble with controlling the very thick dough, so next time with try to refrigerate it before handling. Also, we were looking for more of a "lemon cooler" type of cookie - so adding lemon zest is a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States