Cool Summer Cucumber and Tomato Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Because I did not have vine-riped tomatoes, I used half a pint of halved cherry tomatoes. This is wonderful--simple and delicious. Honestly, I ate the whole bowl by myself! No guilt here......it's low carb and low in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I make this all the time in the summer when the veggies are super fresh! Sometimes I'll use red wine vinegar in place of the basalmic, just depending on my mood. Also wonderful with onions added~YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very simple, delicious and refreshing! I used little cherry tomatoes and added red onions to my salad... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I've been eating this for years with red wine vinegar and sliced red onion... however, I feel the Balsamic really takes it over the top. I had a bunch of Cukes and Roma tomatoes... ate this for 4 straight days and LOVED it! Wish I had a garden right about now. Thanks for sharing, MOTTSBELA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Not bad. Goat cheese or feta can really make this pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is very easy to put together. It is light and refreshing and not too vinegary. The only thing I did different was to add a cut up onion. Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I notice red onion in the picture.Not mentioned in the ingredients. This would definitely add to the flavor. I added a sprinkling of blue cheese when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Add a few sliced onions, basil, and feta or mozzarella cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Awesome as is. I also have added a few things as I had a yellow pepper I had to use and a bit of onion to our taste. A little cilantro and 1/4 tsp cumin as I had these around too. Great color and there was not a speck left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
How can I not like cucumbers, tomatoes, vinegar and oil. However, I have never really used balsamic and did not know how it changes the color of food. I used roma tomatoes and and English cucumber to save time on peeling. As soon as I added the vinegar the cucumbers and tomatoes instantly turn a brownish color. I had no problem with the taste, except I might cut the vinegar and oil amount in half. Although, I would not be able to serve this to company because of the odd color it imparts on the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States