Cool Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Refreshingly awesome! This is a great alternative to traditional pico de gallo. Especially if you have a garden that has produced an overabundance of the ingredients used within this recipe. That being my issue, I whipped this up in a heartbeat, but tweaked it a bit. I added and extra jalapeno pepper, used only one cucumber, added half of a red chili pepper for even more spicy heat, doubled the cilantro, used a whole lime, half a lemon and three cloves of garlic. It turned out excellent and is great on shredded chicken tostadas. The use of fresh vegetables did cause access water in the bottom of the bowl after leaving in the fridge overnight to further incorporate the flavors. I would sugest slicing up your cucumber and draining/leaving it sit in a strainer for a little while before adding to the mixture(as you would do to make homemade tzatziki sauce). That, or drain the access liquid the next morning as I did. Great recipe, and I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
love it very fresh tasting, next time I will half the recipe it makes quite a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Used 2 oz. mild green chilies and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes in place of green pepper and jalapenos I did not have. Also used dried cilantro and parsley and it still turned out AWESOME! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I've made this twice, took reviewers advice and added a lil extra lime WONDERFUL..Myself and friends loved it.Second time i had an avacodo that needed used and added it..Delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
12 servings is huge so I made 6 servings, but it's still A LOT! I didn't have green peppers so I substituted them with yellow and red peppers. It's so yummy! I pour this all over my salmon, which fills me up and I don't feel guilty for having so much flavoring on my food! Healthy & Diet friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Good flavor, easy to make. It had more of a pico de gallo consistency than what I think of as salsa but it was yummy with some corn tortillas or as a side with my enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
was easy to make and was awesome, put it in front of the wife and her friends and it was gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Agree it was time consuming to make, but sooooo good. I added an extra tomato for color and because I have so many. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
i cant keep enough in the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Shegitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I had to leave out the cilantro and dill weed because I didn't have either one. I used green chilis in place of the jalapeno. This turned out ok, I added some jarred salsa after eating a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States