Cool Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Made this according to the directions a few nights ago and in a word - amazing! I love salsa and adore cucumbers (especially in the summer!) and this was a huge hit for all the kids and adults alike. Lots of flavor and it is a great twist for an old favorite. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sleepy Hollow, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I've made this twice in the past week and it's been very positively received each time. I just *learning* to like cukes and I don't really care for cilantro, so it's not my personal fav, but everyone else seems to love it! I love that it's fairly easy to make and is a cool light alternative to many mayo coated calorie dense BBQ dishes! I used 1 cuke (it was rather large) and 1/2 jalap (my jalaps were HUGE....5".....both times...I'd prefer a little more heat, but I always error on the safe side when taking for others). I also couldn't find fresh cilantro, so I had to use dried (used 2 heaping tsps to adjust). I also doubled the lime juice....everyone loves guessing what's in this salsa! TY for a great easy recipe. Oh yeah, I used red onion for both the bite and color and the second time I also added half a diced red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia S.
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very good. I decided to add a "sweet" note to the salsa, and added frozen corn (thawed). I also used red onion, as that is what I had on hand. This is a versatile recipe, and a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Delicious. Great way to use cucumbers in the summer time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was fantastic! There were people ready to eat it with a spoon, they liked it SO much! Will definitely make it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this with purple onion, added more salt and dill, but other than that, didn't change a thing. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is so good served with some crackers. I love this because i cam eat as much as i want and not feel guilty, everything is fresh and good for you. The only thing is it doesnt keep but for a day or two because the juices from the veggies make it get very watery. DE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was hoping for better -but I think part of the reason mine did not taste as great as the reviews was due to my produce. I think my cukes and tomatoes wren't very flavorful and maybe not ripe enough. I should have tasted them first. There was plenty of heat though. I will try this again because I have had salsa with cucumbers before and loved it. Just make sure my veggies are in better shape. It definitely tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a good recipe and I really enjoyed the addition of the cucembers to a garden salsa. I did find that it needed a lot more lime juice for my taste. Also, if you are lloking for a little more kick from your salsa, don't see the jalapeno. The seeds have oils in them that release heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is a refreshing change! I substituted yellow pepper for the bell pepper to give it more color. Wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States