Cool Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
yep- very refreshing and crunchy and tasty! don't skimp on the lime juice... add lots... needs a bit more salt, as well... 1 jalapeno won't do a thing with the spice factor- it needs 3 to get any kick at all. and don't get impatient with the refrigerator time... it needs to flavor up for a while. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I've made this twice in the past week and it's been very positively received each time. I just *learning* to like cukes and I don't really care for cilantro, so it's not my personal fav, but everyone else seems to love it! I love that it's fairly easy to make and is a cool light alternative to many mayo coated calorie dense BBQ dishes! I used 1 cuke (it was rather large) and 1/2 jalap (my jalaps were HUGE....5".....both times...I'd prefer a little more heat, but I always error on the safe side when taking for others). I also couldn't find fresh cilantro, so I had to use dried (used 2 heaping tsps to adjust). I also doubled the lime juice....everyone loves guessing what's in this salsa! TY for a great easy recipe. Oh yeah, I used red onion for both the bite and color and the second time I also added half a diced red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
WONDERFUL! I only used one cucumber and extra tomatoes. The recipe as written is very mild. Add more jalepenos to make it spicier. This is the best salsa recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't use parsley because I didn't have any, so I used about twice as much cilantro, I used an extra cucumber also. I added a little cracked black pepper and I didn't have a lime, so I used lemon, but I read the recipe wrong so instead of using half a teaspoon I accidentally used a whole half of the lemons juice, but it truly was one of the best salsas I have ever had! In fact I ate almost all of it the first night, so I had to go back to the store to get more cucumbers so that I could make another batch! Try this once and you will have it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
We made this and took to a dinner party -- it was a huge hit. We love cucumbers and this receipe really added to the simple cucumber salad we ate as we grew up. We did not use it as a dip, rather it was spread over baked salmon and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Great recipe. I used 4 jalapenos because everyone in the office loves spicy food, and I doubled the cilantro and omitted the parsley. I also used 4 tomatoes to give it more red coloring. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
FANTASTIC! A real crowd pleaser! Everyone raved about how different and delicious this salsa was. It was very easy, everything was fresh from our garden. People (even men) were asking me for the recipe! This one is a summer must!!! Thank you soooo much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Fantastic! This recipe is beyond five stars in my book. Don't skip the dill! It gives this salsa such a great variety of flavors. The only change I made was to omit the onion. I served it with Hint of Lime Tostitos and it was a match made in heaven. I will make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Awesome!! I received rave reviews from everyone who tried it!! Just add extra lime juice...that's my only thought on tweaking it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was DEVOURED at a cookout I went to this past weekend. I got a lot of great compliments on this. I used the seedless cucumbers and added 4 chopped fresh jalapenos. It is cool and crisp and just plain good. Look forward to making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States