Cooking Light magazine's Indian Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I've made this numerous times with great success. It's got a kick (I use hot chili powder and hot curry)I used only 3 cups water as 4 made it too watery for my liking. A sprinkling of golden raisins on top gives it a nice sweet/spicy taste. I also have made the spice mix packets for gifts and attach the recipe(great for those who love good food but don't have the ingredients or desire).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FingerLakesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Delicious, but forgot to mention that I only cooked the chicken pieces in the mixture for 10-15 minutes; they were cooked through and still tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
You should cook this the night before and store in the fridge. The flavours will be much stronger (and better) the next day instead of right out of the pot after it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Good but not amazing. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I made this recipe twice now. It is so good. I did add 1 cup of coconut milk and reduced the water by 1 cup as well. Oh, I played around with the spices, too as it was too much cayenne pepper for my tastes. I was disappointed at first because it looked very watery, even after cooking for 1 hour, however as it cooled it really thickened up. It tastes great the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very nice curry. We prepared it for dinner tonight and enjoyed v much. Combination of potatoes and rice ma y be a bit unsual, but you will like it all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I like this recipe because it's a great way to make a very healthy, yet very flavorful meal. But I do make several changes now. First I made it exactly like written, and both my boyfriend and I felt the red pepper was way too overpowering (and he is quite the firehead.) The modifications I made this last time were: half the amount of red pepper and cinammon, a little more ginger (if using powder, if using fresh do same amount), and different vegetables instead of potato. Another great thing about this recipe is you can use any veggie you want and it will cook very nicely in the sauce. I now use carrots, bell pepper, fresh spinach, or whatever I have in the fridge. Next time I'm going to take other reviewers suggestion of red pepper flakes in place of plain red pepper. Also, be sure to simmer the curry for quite awhile to get the thickness in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Pretty good considering you're not at an Indian restaurant. In itself, it tastes great but you can't compare it to something you'd get at your favorite Indian place. In the interest of saving time, next time I want Indian food, I'll just go out for it. That doesn't mean this isn't a good recipe though. It's just a little time consuming and doesn't taste quite the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
this recipe was easy and a tasty alternative to traditional curry w/ coconut milk... i added more yogurt, trippled the spices, and did not add any water. also, i used only a few potatos... it wasn't the thickest... but, it worked well over rice. i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States