Cooking Light magazine's Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was one of THE simplest parmesan recipes out there, and pretty tasty too. I don't like how it came out fried in the pan though, and simmering makes the crumbs too moist. It is much better (and frankly, easier) to put the breaded breasts on a foil-lined cookie sheet, spray liberally with cooking spray, and bake about 15-20 min or til juices run clear. Then, remove, and top with warmed sauce and cheeses, bake til cheeses are melted and serve. This saves on fat grams too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
A nice recipe! I used 7 herb ragu for the sauce and added parmesan cheese (1/4 c) and 1/2 teas. italian seasoning to the crumbs. I also baked everyone thing in the oven after browning the chicken. It was better than an italian restuarant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was the first time I ever made Chicken Paramesan and I loved it. The only thing I did that the recipe didnt call for was flour my chicken before I dipped it in egg. This helps the breading to stick better. I also browned the chicken in the skillet and then finished it off in the oven. Was awesome and oh so easy!!! Will do this one again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This was fabulous! I poured the sauce in the dish and then layed the chicken on top so it would not get soggy, then topped with low-fat parmesan. A keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very easy and very tasty. I found that I needed to use 2 beaten eggs plus more bread crumbs than called for as the chicken breasts I had were huge. I don't bother with the pan frying, just coat a 13 x 9 pan with cooking spray and place breasts there and bake (350 at 30 minutes). I placed cheese over top last 5 minutes of baking time. Meanwhile I heated up a jar of spaghetti sauce. I placed the chicken on the plate and poured sauce over top and sprinkled with parsley for a beautiful presentation. Served with garlic sticks and salad. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Really quick and super easy. If you use jarred sauce I recommend you use a high quality one or doctor it before adding to the chicken. Make sure you get the chicken well browned before adding the sauce to keep the coating from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I've made this with both chicken and veal but I like it with veal the best. After I brown the chicken breasts in the frying pan I put them on a plate with paper towels to get rid of the excess grease. Instead of putting them back in the skillet with sauce, I put a thin layer of sauce in a baking pan, then place the chicken on that, then cover with the rest of the sauce and mozzerella cheese. I bake it in a preheated 350 degree oven until the cheese melts. I serve it with rice and put the extra sauce from the pan over the rice and let people sprinkle on their own parmesan. This is one meal I get continued requests for, it's definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Just a few suggestions - one, if you find that the breading falls off of the chicken when you are cooking it, try patting the raw chicken with flour before you egg-wash it. Also, adding a little milk to the egg-wash will help the breading stick. I like to make my own bread-crumb mixture and do so by mixing bread-crumbs with dried parsley, Italian seasoning mix, garlic powder, and parmesean. Extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Now this is a quick and flavorful chicken dinner. I made my own bread crumbs(not rocket science) I added a litte salt, pepper, oragano, and the parmesan cheese then followed the rest of recipe. Tender, moist, crunchie crust, fast, easy, a real keeper. All you need to sever with it is a crispy salad and warm crunchie bread. Great the next day if you have any leftovers, the flavors have mingled even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this recipe using Trader Joe's tomato basil pasta sauce and loved it!! I followed the recipe except I added extra sauce (just used the whole jar). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States