Cookies....All Dressed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This isn't a bad recipe, but compared with other wonderful recipes on this website, it just doesn't quite measure up. When I read the combinations I thought they would be very flavorful! However the cookies are a little bland. With the right modifications, I'm sure they could be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I was skeptical about using the pretzels so I cooked one batch without them. Not good. So, I added the pretzels and while it did help, I still wasn't crazy about these. They just don't have any distinguishing flavor and are a bit bland. Sorry. Also, it seemed like a lot of flour to me and the dough was very dry. I followed the recipe exactly other than not having quite a full cup of milk chocolate chips so I had to finish the cup with semi sweet. I don't think that really made much difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were great! My niece and nephew were over helping me bake and wanted mini m&m's so we used them instead of chocolate chips. They loved these cookies (I think they loved the dough even more!) and they were also popular on my cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I originally made these and reviewed these when CC had it as a personal recipe in her recipe box. These are my husband's favorite cookie. I make them all the time, following the recipe just as written. I can't imagine anyone claiming that these would be bland with all of the different ingredients that are included. They are sweet, salty, crunchy, chewy, everything you would want in a cookie. I will continue to make these frequently and am so glad that this recipe is now "kitchen approved"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These are great cookies! It is the perfect combination of sweet and salty, chewy and crisp. I've been eyeing this recipe ever since it was published, but with all the fun add-ins, I never really thought I'd have everything around to make them! Then last evening, when my sister and I were trying to come up with something sweet to bring to a church function, we found that we had every single ingredient and could make these exactly as written. They came out perfectly delicious! I would definitely make these cookies again. My sister and I both thought that the addition of raisins would be a good touch, to give them a bit more chewiness. For those who thought the dough was very dry: it works best to mix the butter mixture into the flour mixture with your hands. This is a trick I learned in culinary school; your hands are the most effective tool for mixing and combining. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe; it is a winner and we'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Lovely flavour in this cookie! Not a flat cookie. But lovely textures. Made as suggested, with the exception of substitution of sunflower seeds for pecans (what I had on hand) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
We loved these at our house. A substantial cookie that you can easily add your own favourites to. For my first batch I added raisins and sunflower seeds instead of pecans because of nut allergy. I used my hands to mix the dough on the advice of a previous review and found the dough easy to work with. Loved the texture and taste of this cookie...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Fantastic!!! The perfect combination of salty and sweet, chewy and crunchy. I didn't have pecans or cereal so I left those out and I also reduced the baking time to 10 minutes for my gas oven. They turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Probably should not have ground the pretzels and chex mix as fine as I did; made a very dense (hard!) cookie which came out dry....had to knead and form balls as it fell apart when trying to use a spoon. Hope it will be a good coffee dunker cookie :). Flavor ok, not a 100% winner, but close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Twin Peaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
A crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside cookie. The pretzel and toffee pieces give this cookie some added salty/sweet taste. I used a small cookie scoop and got 9 dozen cookies. Perfect amount the function I needed them for. By making a smaller cookie I baked them for 9 minutes. A good cookie that I would make again, but next time, my family requested no coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States