Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
If you love Oreo cookies (and who doesn't?), you'll love this cake. I've made this many times for more than 15 years, because it's always been a crowd pleaser. I make it as a layer cake, using 2 eggs rather than 3 egg whites--this makes for a more moist cake, and there's no waste of yolks. I cover the sides of the cake completely with additional crushed Oreos and stand more cookies, cut in half, upright along the top edge. I make the frosting a little differently, mostly to ensure an ample amount for a layer cake: 4 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 c. shortening, 1/4 c. milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. This is a great go-to recipe when you need a cake that's beautiful, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Love the concept and so did our neighbor's two little kids (not to mention my husband)! I couldn't bring myself to do a boxed cake so I used the recipe for "Simple White Cake" from this site and am so glad I did because it tastes just like a big sugar cookie and for the icing I used "White Cake Frosting II" from this site. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I used the idea of the cushed oreo cookie in this but I used the recipe from this site that is called cream cake. It is wonderful on it's own but with the addition of the cookies...it was fantastic! After it cooled...I also melted about a cup of giradelli chocolate chips with a little bit of cream and drizzled it on top. If you do not add too much cream...after a while...the chocolate hardens almost like candy on the cake which makes it extra yummy. Sorry but I just could not use this recipe with the box cake mix because no matter what you put in it...you know that it started from a box. Try the cake the way I mentioned and I can guarantee....you will not be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made these for my daughter's class for her birthday. The teacher says these were a hit! They make a perfect amount for sending to class. I was able to make 30. I baked them in paper cups 2/3 full for 18 minutes at 350. I altered the frosting a little. I used 1/2 cup butter to 1/4 c. shortening as I like a buttercream frosting. I was pleased with the result. For the topping I just turned the cupcake upside down and turned it in a bowl of cookie crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This cake turned out good. I made it in a sheet cake pan(9 x 13 x 2).I added 2 cups of crushed oreos to the batter and it was good. I made the frosting and it did taste just like the frosting in the center of the oreo cookies. I also crushed the remainder of the bag of cookies and sprinkled on top of the frosting. I served it with vanilla ice cream and then wished I had bought the cookies and cream ice cream. The cake did not last, as every one said it was great. Thanks for a keeper. Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made this cake for a family gathering and it was a big hit. I followed the icing directions to the T which I think is was really makes this cake. For those that are leary about using raw eggs, remember you can always buy pasterized eggs or pasterize them yourself by placing the egg in boiling water that is 145 degrees for 3 and a half minutes and then immediatly putting in ice water. This will kill any bacteria in the eggs. I also made one with chocolate cake and I actually liked it better. It tasted just like an Oreo cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Not to sound 'cliche' but this tastes soooo artificial and like boxed cake. There's really not much taste at all to this, and the icing left a strange, waxy film on the roof of my mouth. However, I did make this for the kids and they were thrilled. It did turn out pretty, especially with the crumbled cookies all over and sliced ones all around the top. It is very easy and cheap to make, a no-brainer that might be appropriate for a bake sale (because of the novelty of it) or a kids birthday party. But I would never serve to adult guests...there are way too many extraordinary boxed cake recipes from this website ("chocolate cavity maker cake" for example)that make this one look a little silly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
It's good. I couldn't taste the oreo that much. I think you need about 1 1/2 cups of crumbs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is a nice change of pace from the *usual* cakes (and what isn't better w/Oreos?!). I followed the recipe to a "T" for both the cake and frosting, though I did make as cupcakes, rather than as a cake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This cake had no flavor, tastes just like the inside of an Oreo. Way too sweet. I was very disappointed since there were not any ratings below three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States