Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband LOVES this cake and has been eating it all to himself. I added more butter rather than shortening to give it more of a butter taste. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Love the concept and so did our neighbor's two little kids (not to mention my husband)! I couldn't bring myself to do a boxed cake so I used the recipe for "Simple White Cake" from this site and am so glad I did because it tastes just like a big sugar cookie and for the icing I used "White Cake Frosting II" from this site. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This cake was fantastic! I was unsure at first of the shortening in the frosting but it turned out awesome! Its definitely something different than your plain ole white cake with frosting. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Absolutely divine! I used two whole eggs instead of the whites. The pans took 25 minutes to bake. I didn't want to use raw eggs, so I frosted it with the grocery store frosting on this site. For garnishing I used mini oreos around the circumference and crushed oreos on top. This was probably the best cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I added more cookies to the batter and used store bought frosting. Everyone at work loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Yes, tastes kinda like an oreo...the flavors are like the artificial taste of chocolate and cream you expect from an Oreo. The cake looks lovely--I used a bundt pan for easier serving at work (no plate really required). Using Naples recipe for frosting worked really well (no worries with egg whites). I frosted the entire cake then decorated the top with some crushed Oreos (red filling-Christmas collection) and M&Ms for added color (birthday cake...wanted it to look more festive). --Personally, I don't LOVE this cake, but it's a nice change, creative idea, looks cool. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this cake for my best friend, who loves Oreos. It was a pretty cake and it was delicious. I think I used more Oreos than the recipe called for. I also used Double-Stuf Oreos. One thing about this cake: it is better the day after because the frosting sets. So, if you're making this for a party (I'm planning on making it for my husband's birthday), then make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was really easy and delicious. The secret to not having a crumbling problem with this cake is to add a packet of dream whip to the batter. When it bakes it keeps it moist but makes it a little more dense. It was perfect. I aslo added 2 cups oreo crumbs. I have baked this as a layer cake and as a sheet cake and both work well. The sheet cake takes alot less work because you can just frost and go, so i usually just do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Used 1.5 c oreo crumbs in cake, but still didn't taste like oreos. Overall, the cake and frosting were pretty boring. I recommend using devil's food or chocolate cake mix instead of white, for a better oreo taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
OMG, this cake was awesome....I used pillsbury moist white cake mix, and just followed the directions of the cake mix, not the egg white version. I probably added about a cup of crushed cookies. I didnt make the homeade frosting, I just used a can of whipped cream cheese frosting and crushed some cookies on top. IT WAS A BIG HIT. This will be a regular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States