Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this cake for my best friend, who loves Oreos. It was a pretty cake and it was delicious. I think I used more Oreos than the recipe called for. I also used Double-Stuf Oreos. One thing about this cake: it is better the day after because the frosting sets. So, if you're making this for a party (I'm planning on making it for my husband's birthday), then make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was really easy and delicious. The secret to not having a crumbling problem with this cake is to add a packet of dream whip to the batter. When it bakes it keeps it moist but makes it a little more dense. It was perfect. I aslo added 2 cups oreo crumbs. I have baked this as a layer cake and as a sheet cake and both work well. The sheet cake takes alot less work because you can just frost and go, so i usually just do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Used 1.5 c oreo crumbs in cake, but still didn't taste like oreos. Overall, the cake and frosting were pretty boring. I recommend using devil's food or chocolate cake mix instead of white, for a better oreo taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
OMG, this cake was awesome....I used pillsbury moist white cake mix, and just followed the directions of the cake mix, not the egg white version. I probably added about a cup of crushed cookies. I didnt make the homeade frosting, I just used a can of whipped cream cheese frosting and crushed some cookies on top. IT WAS A BIG HIT. This will be a regular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
good but thought the frosting was a lil to sweet. My sis suggested i frost it with whip cream so i did that instead of using the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was great! A homemade cake probably would've been better than the boxed, but it was still really good. I did increase the amount of cookies in the cake to 1 1/2 cups. The frosting deserves an A+. It truly tastes like the inside of an oreo and was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Everyone wanted the recipe at a baby shower I hosted yesterday. I took this recipe and turned it into a pregnant belly cake and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ireland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
good recipe. i liked that the cookies werent crunchy and went along with the softness of the cake. Very sweet thought so wouldnt necessarily recommend for those without a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Usually I don't go for doctored cake recipes. I made this cake for my in-law's father's day gathering and it was a real hit. Nice and moist, easy to put together, and delicious. A buttercream frosting goes well with it, too, if you don't like shortening based frosting. I followed the advice of one reviewer and increased the amount of crushed oreo cookies from 1 c to 1.5 cups. Rave reviews on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This cake was okay. It just wasn't what I expected. It was very crumbly and fell apart when serving. The frosting, however, was fantastic. It tasted just like the cream center of an Oreo cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States