Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this cake yesterday for a friends birthday and it turned out great! I used mint filled oreos instead of plain ones, and the mint gave it a lot of flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought it was just ok...made it for my kids birthday party, the kids liked it, but I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Original recipe was too dry for me, so I made a few changes. All I had on hand was French Vanilla cake mix, so that's what I used. I used 3 whole eggs instead of whites and traded out the water for a full cup of whole milk. Since this cake is going to be for some kids around ages 5 and 6, I wanted to lighten it up a bit. So I subbed in half a cup of applesauce for the oil. I crushed about ten whole Oreo cookies and folded them into the cake batter before baking in two 9" cake pans. They baked nice and evenly, but I think next time I'll just stick to the oil rather than the applesauce. I like an 'oil-cake' texture much better. I'll just use my own recipe butter cream frosting and mix in some more crushed Oreos, to go in between the cake layers. The outside of the cake is going to be decorated as a monster, so just plan icing getting used here. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it leaves room for personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made this cake and was not impressed. Probably good for a children's birthday?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
If you love oreos this is the cake for you. I think i will frost the cake alittle less next time but thats just my taste. I used the Simple White cake recipe instead of a box..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittknight

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good. The cake did not have as much oreo taste as I hoped it would. Might try it another time with chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
everyone loved this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
my cheesecake was too sweet,i woulve prefered it less sweet...maybe i shouldn't have added any sugar to the whipping... and the crashed cookies definitely needed more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This cake is so easy and very tasty. I was unsure about the frosting, but it turned out really really good. I made it for a friends birthday, and she said it was the best frosting she ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My kids and I love this cake. I made a layer cake and put whipped cream in the middle. I made chocolate ganache for the top and poured it over. Then more whipped cream and, of course, Oreos, for the decoration. The cake part was moist, and the chocolate on top sent it over the top. My son has already requested this one for his birthday - 5 months from now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States