Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very yummy!LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This cake is delicious! Make sure you use a good moist cake mix to start and you will not have a dry cake. I have made this several times, exactly as written, and it turns out perfect. It isn't fair to make changes, decide you don't like it, then give it fewer stars. Rate it for the recipe as written. My family loves the frosting, it is light and not overly sweet. Suzanne, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennmack
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This cake was so good! I give it four stars only because I made a few changes to make it a five star! Instead of using this icing recipe I made cream cheese filling for between the layers which was 1 block of cream cheese, 1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup of marshmallows melted, 1 tsp vanilla and 4 cups icing sugar. I did this because I wasn't too sure about using raw eggs in the icing. I also did the top in a glaze from the "Giant Ding Dong Cake" recipe on this site (also an excellent cake!) This was a great way to change up a white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Made for my Nephew. Everyone loved it. I didn't make or use the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Turned out wonderfully! Although I must admit that I used a vanilla flavor cake mix because some of the other reviews said that there was not enough flavor with the white. Also, the frosting tasted a bit too much like shortening for my liking so I added extra sugar/vanilla, anything with some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilmizlynn
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
made this for hubby birthday and he loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmizlynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this cake yesterday for a friends birthday and it turned out great! I used mint filled oreos instead of plain ones, and the mint gave it a lot of flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought it was just ok...made it for my kids birthday party, the kids liked it, but I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Original recipe was too dry for me, so I made a few changes. All I had on hand was French Vanilla cake mix, so that's what I used. I used 3 whole eggs instead of whites and traded out the water for a full cup of whole milk. Since this cake is going to be for some kids around ages 5 and 6, I wanted to lighten it up a bit. So I subbed in half a cup of applesauce for the oil. I crushed about ten whole Oreo cookies and folded them into the cake batter before baking in two 9" cake pans. They baked nice and evenly, but I think next time I'll just stick to the oil rather than the applesauce. I like an 'oil-cake' texture much better. I'll just use my own recipe butter cream frosting and mix in some more crushed Oreos, to go in between the cake layers. The outside of the cake is going to be decorated as a monster, so just plan icing getting used here. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it leaves room for personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made this cake and was not impressed. Probably good for a children's birthday?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States