Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I only used the recipe for the frosting or "cream" I made my own chocolate cake with cookies in it, however this frosting is horrible. It tasted like straight shortening, I would recommend using butter rather than shortening it was so bad I through all of my cupcakes that were frosted out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this cake to take to a friends house for dessert. It was a huge hit. Instead of Oreos, I used Trader Joe's brand mint chic cookies called Joe-Joes. everyone raved about the cake. I will definitely make it again in the Oreo and the joe-joe versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCAP
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
We loved this recipe! I had to make some changes when I decided to make this lastinute but it worked out fine. I only had a yellow cake mix, so I used that and made it according to the method and ingredients in the box (instead of following the white cake, egg white only directions). I made these into mini cupcakes that took 12-13 minutes to be done. I crises my own cookies with a rolling pin in a ziplock bag, but I only had half-chocolate half-vanilla cookies (cream in the middle, one oreo wafer and one vanilla wafer). This worked well although next time I'll make sure I have Oreos on hand. I crushed extra cookies and dipped the frosted tops in them as another reviewer had suggested. Great original idea! Will definitely make these again- they're great for kids birthday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
If you like cookies n cream, this is the cake for you. I got rave reviews on this cake! I really like the icing too. I decorate cakes and this recipe will be my go-to icing from now on. The Wilton icing recipe I was using is bland but this recipe provides the structure needed for decorating while providing a sweet icing flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
THIS WAS AWESOME! I made it exactly.. except the icing wasn't good to me at all. so i made a different kind.. other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Bowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I have made this recipe three times now as cupcakes and half the neighborhood shows up when they hear that I am baking these! I follow the recipe exactly and bake for 16 minutes. Perfection! Thank you for this awesome and incredibly easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Everyone loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made these into cupcakes and will be making this over and over again..My whole family couldnt get there mouths off of it, I can just imagine what my guests will think later. It is beyond delicious. A nice new twist to the boring cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
It was ok but of course it did come from a box so you can't really expect something special.The idea of adding cookie crumbs into the batter was great but it was a bit dry.The icing was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexianasmommy06
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Honestly, this just tasted like a regular box of cake mix. I couldn't taste ANY of the Oreos in the cake. And I was confused as to why so many of the reviews say that the frosting tasted just like the inside of an Oreo; mine sure didn't and I followed the recipe 100%!! The presentation was nice, but overall, it was pretty gross. Maybe a real, made from scratch cake and a buttercream frosting would be better...? Sorry, but I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States