Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My hubby loved this. It didn't last in our house very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXIS4000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this for my daughter's 10 year birthday the day before Hurricane Ike blew in. I took other's advice and used 2 cups oreos in the batter and it definitely had an oreo taste to it (I might have used more than 2 cups). I could see how some would say it is too sweet, but we loved it! I am going to try it again with a chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This cake was good. I took the suggestion of some other reviewers and added more crushed oreos to the cake mix (about 2 cups), and even then you couldn't really taste the oreos in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cassi
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
LOVED this cake! It was soooo easy to make too!!! The only problem I kind of had was the icing. I mixed it by hand and it didn't seem to turn out right.. and when I tried icing the cake it wouldn't stick very well.. so it wasn't too appealing to the eye (especially since it fell apart.. make sure the bottom half is level before adding the top layer) but it still tasted amazing. I'm sure if you use a electric mixer it would be smoother and easy to work with. Also if you like oreos as much as i do.. I would add more to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
If you love Oreo cookies (and who doesn't?), you'll love this cake. I've made this many times for more than 15 years, because it's always been a crowd pleaser. I make it as a layer cake, using 2 eggs rather than 3 egg whites--this makes for a more moist cake, and there's no waste of yolks. I cover the sides of the cake completely with additional crushed Oreos and stand more cookies, cut in half, upright along the top edge. I make the frosting a little differently, mostly to ensure an ample amount for a layer cake: 4 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 c. shortening, 1/4 c. milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. This is a great go-to recipe when you need a cake that's beautiful, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
So moist!! I made this for my fiance's grandmother's 90th birthday!! Everyone loved it. I did not change a thing except I used mini chocolate sandwich cookies from the bag, I crushed up one bag in the batter and the other bag I lined the top of the cake with and shaped into a 9 and 0 for her birthday. Turned out gorgeous, great on presentation and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigAspirations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was very tender and yummy! I made it for my son's birthday and everyone complimented it. I didn't use the frosting included in the recipe, so I can't comment on that, but the cake itself was great. The oreo lovers in my family were very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and even baked it in the right sized pan, but it took almost an hour to finish. It was also tooo soft and crumbled toooo easy. I had to put it in the freezer for about an hour after it completely cooled and then i left it in the fridge over night. NOW i got it out this morning and it tasted pretty good. My husband enjoyed it, but to be honest i thought it would taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This cake was good, it definitely tasted like a boxed cake so I didn't give it five stars, here are some suggestions: Use the parchment liners for the bottem, I didn't and I had a hard time getting it out even though it was well greased, the oreos seem to kind of stick to the bottem. My other suggestion would be to swap the egg whites with meringue powder that way it is safer. Overall a good cake though, very sweet, not low-cal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This cake had no flavor, tastes just like the inside of an Oreo. Way too sweet. I was very disappointed since there were not any ratings below three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States