Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This would have gotten 5 stars but the frosting is a little weird. I was hesitant to use that much shortening for fear it would taste 'waxy,' but decided to try it this time and see what happens. My fear was spot on - the frosting tasted just fine but had a waxy texture. Is there another way to make the frosting without using so much shortening, or something else you could use instead....? I also used closer to a cup and a half of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, instead of just a cup. It was just right! Also used some crumbled cookies in the frosting rather than garnishing with the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is SOOO GOOD!! I used the recipe from this site, Simple White Cake instead of a box cake mix. Made cupcakes (12 regular size) instead of a whole cake. These cupcakes were very YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I will never make this cake again! I decided to make it for my son's birthday and it is falling apart as a write this! It was difficult to get out of the pans, yes I greased and floured them, and I thought the icing might hold it together. But boy was I wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet cheeks
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made this for my Son's birthday, it was Awesome! I only made a few revisions a la some of the suggestions here...I used 1 c water and 1/4 cup milk in the cake mix, used 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites, and used about 1/4 cup milk in the icing and beat the heck out of it to make it lighter and fluffier..this is definitely a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very, very artificial tasting. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
so incredibly rich and delicious.... if you love cookies and cream and oreos you will love this recipe... I made this the night ahead and put in in the refrigerator and then when I went to cut it it kind of crumbled and fell apart... next time I will be sure to eat it fresh.. but everyone still loved it... when I stacked the two cakes I frosted them and put a layer of crumbs between them.... no bad remarks on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this for my cousin's birthday as something a little different from the regular "dirt" cake. Everyone thought this tasted great. I used two cups of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, which turned out well but was a little crumbly, I think I will only use 1 1/2 cups next time. I also made a 13 X 9 pan instead of two rounds, which I baked for 28 minutes. For the frosting, I was intending to make as written, but ran out of shortening and had to sub in 1/4 cup of butter for part of it. This is a cake I will be making again! It would be even better with a side of cookies & cream ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I used a chocolate cake mix and mini chocolate chips ... it was delicious! Instead of frosting, because the cake was so chocolatey, I used Oreo crumbs and stabilized whipped cream. These were a big hit. Next time I try the white cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I like boxed cake and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I substituted milk for water. I was very worried about the bad tasting frosting. Fortunately after applying the frosting to the cake it tasted exactly like an oreo cookie!! it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States