Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OK but nothing great. Like the hint of taste of oatmeal and the crunchiness from cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I put the cookies in the order that it stated and squished every layer down, but I couldn't get it all to fit! I'm going to try a different order from a review on here. I got to taste test the batch that didn't fit, and they were delish! Made about 16 cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Beautiful presentation and quite delicious! But I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract (I use Mexican Vanilla) which I think is essential and I added that to the directions on the jars I gave as gifts. Everyone raved after making them on how delicious they were. I gave these to my three grown nephews (all out on their own, all bachelors) and they were thrilled that they could make cookies on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
not tried this one yet but will soon..doing cowboy cookies in a jar right now for christmas presents..finding that its easier to put flour,soda,baking powder,salt mixture on bottom so it doesnt filter thru..then oats,sugars,nuts and chips on top. tamping down (easy at first, then harder) after each addition, to get all ingredients in jar. put swatches of christmas cloth on top, recipe on tied ribbon, including contents of jar, so if they want to make these again they have measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binnggo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great gift idea! Plus the cookies are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
What a great gift idea! The first time I put all of the ingredients into a jar, all of it didn't fit. I tried again and REALLY packed down the brown sugar and it all fit! I continued on to make 4 more jars and it was all a perfect fit! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
might go buy more jars to make more...this was my first time creating "cookie in a jar" gifts for Christmas and it was a lot of fun. I would like to keep some made up in my pantry for last minute thank you and hostess gifts. I used up items I had in my pantry so I made a variety of "flavors" - some had m&ms instead of chips. Others used Heath toffee bits instead of white chips. LOVED that I only had to dirty up one 1/2 cup measuring cup. no problems not fitting everything in the jar, but it came a little close on the ones that used M&Ms instead of chips. I selected this recipe over others because I didn't want to include nuts to avoid possible allergy issues, and I liked having Krispies as a unique layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These were very good but we don't often get "crispy rice cereal" so I used chopped walnuts instead. These cookies are very crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
think next time i'll put dates in and no chips. think i like that better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Cookies were good! I think I would omit the oatmeal just because I am not a big oatmeal fan when it comes to cookies, but other than that I thought they were GREAT. My girls passed this out for christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proverbs31mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States