Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
TIME SAVER TIP!! I had no idea how many jars I could make with the amount of ingredients I had to work with since the recipe is for one jar at a time. After a few hours, and learning what order I preferred, this is what I came up with. For 12 jars, you will need to have 5 lbs W.Sugar, 4-10oz choc chips, 2-17.6oz M&M's, 1 large container of oats, 2-32oz B.Sugar, 2-5 lb bags of flour. You will have left overs, but this will allow you to work like an assembly line, doing all the jars one ingredient at a time without running our of anything. The order I used was as follows: W.Sugar, 1/2 cup M&M's, crispy rice, 1/2 cup swirled choc chips, oats, B.Sugar, Baking soda, Baking Powder, and finally flour. Remember to pack down the filling jar after each ingredient is added, it will all fit very nicely!! Oh yeah, the cookies taste wonderful--I made some to keep in my own pantry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
The recipe was a teenie tiny bit dry and I think it lacks a little flavor so I recommend adding vanilla. I had a professional pastry chef taste test it and she tasted the baking soda immediately and she too recommended adding vanilla and possibly a pinch of cinnamon. Other than that the reverse laying is the best and the cookie shape was great. I gave them out as party favors and I had fun making and baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
In one word: YuM! I had no problem fitting this recipe into a quart jar. I used a plastic spatula to pack down after a few layers (layered sugar first, then oats, choc. chips, crispies, white choc. chips, brown sugar, then soda, baking powder and flour). I used the regular jars and a funnel for canning jars. The cookies were not thin at all ..came out perfect! (I used my medium [2 tablespoon] scoop from Pampered Chef ..uniform cookies and perfect shape and thickness.) They were a hit with everyone I gave them to ..presented as Christmas gifts ..in a gift bag I added the cookie jar (the lid covered with fabric and secured with twine), a wooded spoon with a twine ribbon attached, and a set of matching holiday pot holders. For an added personal touch, I also put in the bag a small box of flavored tea or small bag of gourmet coffee. It was great! Thanks for sharing this recipe Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I too made many jars of this up for Christmas gifts (created a serious assembly line and it was actually fun) and we ate a few batches throughout the holidays. Halfway through the gruelling (ha!) taste testing, hit on the idea of adding about 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. Eureka! I skipped the fabric circle decoration, just tied a wooden spoon and handwritten directions to each with rough twine. A bachelor friend says he's just keeping it as is to impress women. But really, try the butterscotch additon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
What a great and easy cookie recipe. I recieved only great raves when I made them. The recipe is yummy as is but the 3rd time I made them, I substituted 1 tablespoon of vanilla instead of using the 2 tablespoon of water, turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very yummy cookie! I got many compliments on them. If I made them in a jar again I put half the flour, then the brown sugar, then the other half of the flour to make the layers look a little more vivid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Wonderful! I would advise adding "mix thoroughly" to the instructions because you are not creaming the sugar with the butter, so it takes awhile to blend. I had a novice cook complain that they fell apart, but I believe that was because they were not mixed well enough before baking. I substituted 1 Tablespoon vanilla for the 2 Tablespoons of water. I would be thrilled to receive these as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is fabulous. I did arrange the ingredients as follows, white sugar,oat meal, Krispies, white chips, choc. chips, brown sugar, flour. It was hard to find the Wide Mouth jars. I went to 10 stores, but Albertson's had them. It really does need to be the wide mouth jars or you will not be able to smash down the ingredients, and fit the entire recipe. These tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
We've given this mix as gifts for two years because it's everyone's favorite. We follow the recipe exactly - absolutely wonderful! Our advice would be to follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
1) Remember to pack solidly as you go, or it won't all fit in the jar. 2) These are excellent made with M&M's and/or butterscotch chips...any substitutions I have tried with the "candy" layers have gone great! 3) They also bake up nicely...I had no issue with too-thin cookies. They seem to mix up more easily/effectively kneading the dough with your hands. 4) They taste fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States