Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is fabulous. I did arrange the ingredients as follows, white sugar,oat meal, Krispies, white chips, choc. chips, brown sugar, flour. It was hard to find the Wide Mouth jars. I went to 10 stores, but Albertson's had them. It really does need to be the wide mouth jars or you will not be able to smash down the ingredients, and fit the entire recipe. These tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Easy and the layers are outstanding! Perfect for gift-giving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
The cookie jars looked beautiful when completed! I added the ingredients in the reverse order stated and they turned out great. Instead of chocolate pieces, I used M&Ms, which were a hit with the kids (M&Ms are always a winner, it seems)! I baked a batch of them, and I found them to be quite tasty although they spread out and were a little on the thin side. Overall, I found this to be a wonderful "cookie-in-a-jar"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
These are now my families favorite....and something I regularly use to give as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
In a word: Yuck! I'm experienced with baking and these were gross! What's with the water?? It just evaporates in the oven and makes the cookies blend together into one big, extremely thin cookie on the cookie sheet. The recipe is also too small for a 1qt jar so if the jar gets moved everything gets mixed up so you don't have the sandart effect. I'm just lucky I tried them before I gave them out. The "Cranberry Hootycreeks" are much better to give out as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Wonderful recipe! My mom and I made these for Christmas gifts for friends. We used this order- flour, oats, brown sugar, krispies, choc. chips, white choc. chips, then regular sugar in a plastic bag on top (so recipients could cream the sugar with butter). We made a batch and they tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a great recipe for gifts in a hurry! I used the holiday crispy rice cereal for even more color and added a piece of fabric between the collar and the lid of the jar. I took the advice of others and reversed the order for layering. My seven year old son helped with this and it was fun because it was sooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I made this recipe for Christmas gifts. I thought I'd better try the recipe to see how it tastes. I could not believe how good they are. They are one of the best tasting cookies I have ever made. The only thing I did different was instead of using Chocolate chips I used baking M&M's. Everyone who got a jar said how beautiful they are. This is one of the best Christmas crafts I have ever done. Even my husband helped me. The only problem is you can't stop after only 1 cookie, they are too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATZRULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Very quick and easy. To decorate the jars, I used some Christmas theme fabric fastened to the top of the jar with an elastic band. I then tied a ribbon around the jar lid (so the elastic band was not visible) and attached the directions to the ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
My kids and I made the jars together and was lots of fun. I would recommend placing in the following order: Sugar on the bottom, next Chocolate Morsals, rice crispies, vanila morsals, oats, brown sugar and last flour to the top. Starting with the sugar on the bottom keeps it from falling through, and the brown sugar holds the flour from doing the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States