Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Wonderful! I would advise adding "mix thoroughly" to the instructions because you are not creaming the sugar with the butter, so it takes awhile to blend. I had a novice cook complain that they fell apart, but I believe that was because they were not mixed well enough before baking. I substituted 1 Tablespoon vanilla for the 2 Tablespoons of water. I would be thrilled to receive these as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
These are a very tasty and crisp cookie. I use a wide mouth quart jar, it makes it easier to get the ingredients out of the jar. I wrap a fancy piece of material, tie with a ribbon and attach the directions to the ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very yummy cookie! I got many compliments on them. If I made them in a jar again I put half the flour, then the brown sugar, then the other half of the flour to make the layers look a little more vivid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made the cookie jars as gifts for my friends and everyone keeps asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
We've given this mix as gifts for two years because it's everyone's favorite. We follow the recipe exactly - absolutely wonderful! Our advice would be to follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made this for my sister and brother-in-law for Christmas. They'll get it tomorrow, but I made a batch of the cookies tonight. They are wonderful! I did make a few teeny changes.. I used butterscotch chips instead of white chocolate. I also 'cheated' and used self-rising flour instead of all the baking soda/powder, and substitued vanilla for the water. The texture is different. Chewy, but crunchy. I can see why some people may not like the texture, but for me it was perfect. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I was looking at different cookie mixes in a jar to make for Christmas presents. This recipe was OK, but the crispy rice cereal tended to go hard and chewy in the finished product. I liked that the recipe was different and it looked great in the jar with all the different textures and colours, but there are other cookie in a jar mixes that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
The recipe worked but I am not sure I like the taste. I had an oatey taste but I think it was because I only put 1/2 cup M&Ms instead of 1 cup to replace the white and dark choc chips. More chocolate would mask the oat taste. Some people complained of a runny, flat cookie so I just omitted the 2 Tbsp water and used a large egg instead. Other changes I made were to reduce the baking soda to 1/2 tsp and the white sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
These cookies were quite good, however, I did use only 1/2 tsp of baking soda, not the 3/4 tsp called for. I also substituted butterscotch chips for the white chocolate, and they were good! I'll be making these for gifts for Christmas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I too made many jars of this up for Christmas gifts (created a serious assembly line and it was actually fun) and we ate a few batches throughout the holidays. Halfway through the gruelling (ha!) taste testing, hit on the idea of adding about 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. Eureka! I skipped the fabric circle decoration, just tied a wooden spoon and handwritten directions to each with rough twine. A bachelor friend says he's just keeping it as is to impress women. But really, try the butterscotch additon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States