Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Wonderful! I would advise adding "mix thoroughly" to the instructions because you are not creaming the sugar with the butter, so it takes awhile to blend. I had a novice cook complain that they fell apart, but I believe that was because they were not mixed well enough before baking. I substituted 1 Tablespoon vanilla for the 2 Tablespoons of water. I would be thrilled to receive these as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
These are a very tasty and crisp cookie. I use a wide mouth quart jar, it makes it easier to get the ingredients out of the jar. I wrap a fancy piece of material, tie with a ribbon and attach the directions to the ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very yummy cookie! I got many compliments on them. If I made them in a jar again I put half the flour, then the brown sugar, then the other half of the flour to make the layers look a little more vivid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made the cookie jars as gifts for my friends and everyone keeps asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
We've given this mix as gifts for two years because it's everyone's favorite. We follow the recipe exactly - absolutely wonderful! Our advice would be to follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made this for my sister and brother-in-law for Christmas. They'll get it tomorrow, but I made a batch of the cookies tonight. They are wonderful! I did make a few teeny changes.. I used butterscotch chips instead of white chocolate. I also 'cheated' and used self-rising flour instead of all the baking soda/powder, and substitued vanilla for the water. The texture is different. Chewy, but crunchy. I can see why some people may not like the texture, but for me it was perfect. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I was looking at different cookie mixes in a jar to make for Christmas presents. This recipe was OK, but the crispy rice cereal tended to go hard and chewy in the finished product. I liked that the recipe was different and it looked great in the jar with all the different textures and colours, but there are other cookie in a jar mixes that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
The recipe worked but I am not sure I like the taste. I had an oatey taste but I think it was because I only put 1/2 cup M&Ms instead of 1 cup to replace the white and dark choc chips. More chocolate would mask the oat taste. Some people complained of a runny, flat cookie so I just omitted the 2 Tbsp water and used a large egg instead. Other changes I made were to reduce the baking soda to 1/2 tsp and the white sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
These cookies were quite good, however, I did use only 1/2 tsp of baking soda, not the 3/4 tsp called for. I also substituted butterscotch chips for the white chocolate, and they were good! I'll be making these for gifts for Christmas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I too made many jars of this up for Christmas gifts (created a serious assembly line and it was actually fun) and we ate a few batches throughout the holidays. Halfway through the gruelling (ha!) taste testing, hit on the idea of adding about 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. Eureka! I skipped the fabric circle decoration, just tied a wooden spoon and handwritten directions to each with rough twine. A bachelor friend says he's just keeping it as is to impress women. But really, try the butterscotch additon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States