Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
TIME SAVER TIP!! I had no idea how many jars I could make with the amount of ingredients I had to work with since the recipe is for one jar at a time. After a few hours, and learning what order I preferred, this is what I came up with. For 12 jars, you will need to have 5 lbs W.Sugar, 4-10oz choc chips, 2-17.6oz M&M's, 1 large container of oats, 2-32oz B.Sugar, 2-5 lb bags of flour. You will have left overs, but this will allow you to work like an assembly line, doing all the jars one ingredient at a time without running our of anything. The order I used was as follows: W.Sugar, 1/2 cup M&M's, crispy rice, 1/2 cup swirled choc chips, oats, B.Sugar, Baking soda, Baking Powder, and finally flour. Remember to pack down the filling jar after each ingredient is added, it will all fit very nicely!! Oh yeah, the cookies taste wonderful--I made some to keep in my own pantry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
For all of you mathematically challenged people like me out there - if you add 1/3 cup butterscotch chips something's gotta give or it won't all fit in the jar! Duh...! So I dumped it all in a bowl and made samples out of my first attempt. Very tasty! Second attempt at layering was successful when I reduced the amount of white and chocolate chips to 1/3 cup. Order I used: White sugar, butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, rice krispies, white chips, oats, brown sugar then flour with baking soda and powder. Also the cookies don't spread much in baking, so you can fit 20 to 24 on a sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Excellent cookies and gift. I made a few changes. Used 1/2 tsp of both baking soda and baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt - a reliable combination. And I changed the order of ingredients to create better defined layers starting with white chips, brown sugar, flour, choc chips, oats, white sugar and then crispy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This is a great gift , I now have people ask for this jar =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I got this as a gift from my son's teacher. Wow! Made them on Christmas eve morning and they were gone by the end of the day! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
1) Remember to pack solidly as you go, or it won't all fit in the jar. 2) These are excellent made with M&M's and/or butterscotch chips...any substitutions I have tried with the "candy" layers have gone great! 3) They also bake up nicely...I had no issue with too-thin cookies. They seem to mix up more easily/effectively kneading the dough with your hands. 4) They taste fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Excellent!! These were delicious! What a nice gift. (I hadn't even planned to eat them myself until I ended up having to eat my first batch since I forgot to REVERSE the order of the ingredients listed as all the other reviews suggest---do not forget to do this!) Mine came out thin & crispy---YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I just made these to test before making them for gifts. I thought I did not like them at first but ate several. I used white chocolate and butterscotch chips to see which I liked better. Definately use the butterscoth chips. I would give the recipe with the white chocolate a 2 rating. Weird consistancy though. Chewy and a little hard and they fall apart. But like I said, I kept eating them. So I guess I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I gave this as a gift to more than a dozen people last holiday season......along with a big wooden spoon and some hot pads. Everyone LOVED it! I have since tried to keep a few containers of the mix in my own kitchen for quick and easy cookies.......this is a keeper recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThinkTink3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Excellent, very original, looked so nice in the jar and was a great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States