Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Noticed that many reviewers mentioned lacked flavor so I mixed in 2 teaspoons vanilla extract to the brown sugar to evenly distribute the moisture before packing it in the jar. I was curious would the sugar get hard so I tested 1 jar a week later brown sugar was not hard or lumpy. excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Last year our Girl Scout Troop used this recipe to make for our 'make it, eat it' patch, and it was great! We used glass jars, Christmas fabric cut into 8 inch squares and tied it with red & green raffia. Made copies of the baking directions on colored paper, paper punched the corner and tied in on with the raffia. My Troop gave these to family and friends as gifts, and I received many compliments. Needless to say, ALLRECIPES.COM received a lot of free advertisement that year!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is just ok. Based on the reviews, I was planning on making the jars for Christmas presents. I would highly suggest making them first. They are missing flavor. I think they would be better if you added some vanilla and salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These are great. Remind me of Ranger cookies. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BENNERSMOM
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Thanks, Sparky, for your layering tips and shopping list. I love the idea of holiday M&Ms instead of the white chips, and I used swirl chips instead of plain chocolate. I really had to push hard to get the flour in, but I added 3/4 cup at a time and pressed firmly. I posted a photo, it should be on soon. These will be great items for our Cub Scout auction, and the 1st grade boys will have fun making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Great gift idea, I didn't try them before giving a jar away. I thought I should try them so I made them a few days later and they look great and I love the chewy/crunchy texture but they were lacking flavour. It just tastes sugary to me. I may try again by adding some flavourings or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were just okay. Made 1/2 batch with butterschoth - if you do this, reduce sugar as they come out very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are very tasty cookies! I've given these as gifts and made them. They are super quick to make even if you do it all yourself. The dough is easy to work with and they bake up with a great chewy, moist consistency. I really like the Rice Krispies in them. A nice change from your ordinary chocolate chip cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Great recipe. We made 2 batches to try it out...one with white chocolate chips and the other with butterscotch chips. Both were very good, but butterscotch had a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
very good- I am making them as gifts this year. I did not have rice cripies on hand so I used chocolate crispies- I did layer the ingrediants differently then suggested. I have read that white sugar should be at the bottom otherwise it seeps down throught the layers and will ruin the layer look. I did white sugar,flour, baking soda and baking powder, oatmeal, brown sugar, cholocate chips, white chips and crispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States