Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
We made 12 jars exactly as written for Christmas gifts this year. During the measuring and packing, we baked our own batch of these cookies and they are delicious! I will definitely make these for my six kids in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracylee24
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I prepared both the decorative jar, and the cookie, for a "rehearsal" for possible holiday gifts this year. I wasn't too impressed w/ the layering of the jar (4 stars), so I'm going to tinker around w/ the order of the ingredients so that the layers are more distinct and less apt to "run together." I did; however, get everything packed down to fit w/ no problem, and I went w/ 1/4 c. mini chocolate chips, and 1/4 c. mini M&M's. Baked the cookies as written, except added 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Very tasty cookie (5 stars!) that my tummy would be happy to welcome again. As far as giving the recipe as dry ingredients in a jar, I'll need to work on that some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Nice cookie! I was out of eggs so I substituted 1/2 c. of Cinnamon Applesauce and 1 tbsp. of Vanilla. These extra flavors only enhanced the cookie! I swear mine look just like the ones in the picture. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Brookins
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIFESDISASTER
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIFESDISASTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years. At Christmas, I have made these, using the Christmas Rice Crispies....it adds a festive look, without changing the original recipe. Instead of attaching a card, I found a recipe card template, on-line, and was able to add a family picture, in place of adding, who it was from. After printing it off(using regular printer paper), I taped it onto the jar...label style and attached a simple gift tag with a ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Gregoire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lincoln, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This recipe has a lot of potential, but definitely needed some tweeking. The reason so many found it bland is that there is no salt. I consulted some other cookie recipes and decided to reduce the baking soda and eliminate the baking powder. So here is my revised version: 1) in a small mixing bowl mix the flour with 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. baking soda and add to jar (use a canning funnel to make this process much easier), 2) add brown sugar, then pack down with your knuckles, 3) add white sugar, then oatmeal, 4) add dark chocolate, then white chocolate, then pack gently down again, 5) add rice crispies. I also made a few revision for baking: mix up the softened butter and egg, and add 1 tsp. vanilla. Add cookie mix and stir well. Don't add water! This dough will be a little crumbly, but just mold into walnut-sized balls and place on cookie sheet. Mine needed about 14 min. in the 350 oven, but of course this depends on the size. We all loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by portesa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These cookies were dryer than I was expecting... a little more like a biscuit, as other reviewers suggested. Even so, my husband couldn't get enough of them. I'm planning to use these cookie jars as favors at a shower I'm throwing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These cookies are pretty average. If you substitute vanilla for the water, I suggest not using more than 1 teaspoon vanilla. We taste tested these and I will keep looking for another cookie recipe to give for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Sorry, these just didn't have enough taste. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, should have added more. With the baking powder in them, they turn out like a biscuit, had to flatten them with a glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulike26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States