Cookie That Thinks It's a Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I used white chocolate chips instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieB123
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious. I can't even believe how good these are. They need to be made *EXACTLY* as the recipe states, including using regular sized eggs and listed mixxing speeds. I had only large and extra large, so I used 3 large, but with one of them I halved the white to prevent runniness. I skipped the walnuts, but no harm. And they absolutely must sit for about 10 minutes before baking. Using baking squares and doing everything else the same (unsalted butter, we are baking), even the mixer speeds, they're absolutely amazing, hands-down the best chocolate cookie I've ever had. They're so rich, I put a little caramel ice cream topping on my last bite and it was *perfect.* I am going to keep this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband loved these. Requested I make them again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
These are the best cookies I've ever made. It has a crisp outside with a chewy middle. My sister had a problem (and to a lesser extent, I did the first time) with the cookies becoming too thin, but it was a matter of actually allowing the batter to sit for at least five minutes before spooning it onto the cookie sheet. The batter needs to congeal or something. As for the person who had problem estimating with the chocolate chips...each baking square is one ounce, so if you have a 12 oz package of chocolate chips just use the whole bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Excellent cookie! Really hits the spot when you want a brownie. Easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
There are great for chocolate lovers! The batter alone is incredibly rich. I followed the recipe exactly and used unsalted butter. Let it rest for 10 minutes and it hardens up quite a bit... make sure to flatten them before you put them in the oven. The second time I made them I ran out of sugar so I used closer to 2/3 cup, and I substituted chocolate chunks for the walnuts. They came out puffier and not as crackly, but they did flatten out a bit after they cooled. I baked them for 14 minutes this time but I think 12 is enough. My coworkers thought these were fantastic! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Fantastic! Wonderfully rich. Easy to make. Will make this in place of brownies whenever I want more of a "single serving" type of brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
1: when making these cookies please use exact measurements .. 2: USE Bakers Semi sweet Chocolate Baking squares or A Similar Product of semi sweet chocolate squares. 3: PLEASE DO NOT USE CHOCOLATE CHIPS.. IT DOESN'T WORK TOO WELL. it makes the batter too runny I have always used squares to make these. I dont use Chocolate chips to make these. And they have never failed me ever when I used squares. 4: make sure you are using butter and exact measurements. 5: THIS BATTER DOES NEED TO STAND FOR AT LEAST 5 MIN MIN ..10 MINUTES MAX. 6: Use Regular size eggs Do Not use Large or Ex Large eggs because that would thin the batter more . I REALLY HOPE THESE TIPS HELP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I didn't have 12 squares of baker choc, only had 8, so I cut the rcipe in half best I could, except I didn't have walnuts, so I put a sprinkling more of flour in the dough. I had to try this recipe, even with all the mixed reviews my dough turned out perfect, i think alot of the trick is to really fold in the flour mixture, and let it set. Also be sure to use baker semi sweet squares, and butter, not margerine. Since I halved the recipe, I used 1 large egg. The origianal recipe calls for 3 normal size eggs. I left the dough set at room temp 5 mins then stuck it in freezer for 5 more. I spooned the dough onto the greases/floured cookie sheet in 1" balls trying not to touch the dough too much, baked for 7 minutes....the cookies come out looking like the dough balls I put in..So, those of you who got flat cookies must have done something wrong. My nexy batch I pressed the dough balls down a little...and they turned out perfect. these are perfect little fudgey brownie bites for your chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
These are simply delicious. We all love cookies, we all love brownies, and this delightful 'hybrid' of the the two are simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States