Cookie That Thinks It's a Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
1: when making these cookies please use exact measurements .. 2: USE Bakers Semi sweet Chocolate Baking squares or A Similar Product of semi sweet chocolate squares. 3: PLEASE DO NOT USE CHOCOLATE CHIPS.. IT DOESN'T WORK TOO WELL. it makes the batter too runny I have always used squares to make these. I dont use Chocolate chips to make these. And they have never failed me ever when I used squares. 4: make sure you are using butter and exact measurements. 5: THIS BATTER DOES NEED TO STAND FOR AT LEAST 5 MIN MIN ..10 MINUTES MAX. 6: Use Regular size eggs Do Not use Large or Ex Large eggs because that would thin the batter more . I REALLY HOPE THESE TIPS HELP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
These are the best cookies I've ever made. It has a crisp outside with a chewy middle. My sister had a problem (and to a lesser extent, I did the first time) with the cookies becoming too thin, but it was a matter of actually allowing the batter to sit for at least five minutes before spooning it onto the cookie sheet. The batter needs to congeal or something. As for the person who had problem estimating with the chocolate chips...each baking square is one ounce, so if you have a 12 oz package of chocolate chips just use the whole bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great cookies! You HAVE to follow the recipe and let this batter sit for the chocolate seize up a little before you bake them. I had to let mine sit longer than stated, probably 15 minutes. They are sensitive in the oven (mine were perfect in 12 minutes) and there is not a lot of wiggle room between not done and too done. My family really loved these, so I will probably make them again, but they do take some mollycoddling, so only make them if you can commit to the recipe and to watching them closely. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband loved these. Requested I make them again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I thought these were just OK. I replaced the nuts with white chocolate chips. Recipe's OK, but I probably won't make them again. Thanks for sharing the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I didn't have 12 squares of baker choc, only had 8, so I cut the rcipe in half best I could, except I didn't have walnuts, so I put a sprinkling more of flour in the dough. I had to try this recipe, even with all the mixed reviews my dough turned out perfect, i think alot of the trick is to really fold in the flour mixture, and let it set. Also be sure to use baker semi sweet squares, and butter, not margerine. Since I halved the recipe, I used 1 large egg. The origianal recipe calls for 3 normal size eggs. I left the dough set at room temp 5 mins then stuck it in freezer for 5 more. I spooned the dough onto the greases/floured cookie sheet in 1" balls trying not to touch the dough too much, baked for 7 minutes....the cookies come out looking like the dough balls I put in..So, those of you who got flat cookies must have done something wrong. My nexy batch I pressed the dough balls down a little...and they turned out perfect. these are perfect little fudgey brownie bites for your chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
There are great for chocolate lovers! The batter alone is incredibly rich. I followed the recipe exactly and used unsalted butter. Let it rest for 10 minutes and it hardens up quite a bit... make sure to flatten them before you put them in the oven. The second time I made them I ran out of sugar so I used closer to 2/3 cup, and I substituted chocolate chunks for the walnuts. They came out puffier and not as crackly, but they did flatten out a bit after they cooled. I baked them for 14 minutes this time but I think 12 is enough. My coworkers thought these were fantastic! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I am surprised by any good reviews. This batter was way too runny. It definitely needed more flour. My cookies did not come out like the ones in the picture but absolutely flat and very difficult to removed from a greased baking sheet so they crumbled. Oh the flavor was good but they were not presentable. I think I will keep looking for that perfect chocolate cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
These are really good! I was worried because of some of the bad reviews so I halved it and it came out great! I don't know why there were so many problems with them - my 3 year old niece helped me and they still came out great! I had to make another whole batch because my family ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Just so clever!!!!! WOW!! didnt do the salt tho... i tend to not add any salt in sweet recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFENMUMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States