Cookie Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The 1st day the buttermilk flavor was too strong. It seemed to mellow by the 2nd day. It was good if you like whip cream/fruit type salads. I think it might be better which just regular milk- or maybe half buttermilk and half skim. Of all the fruit salad recipes in the world this was just a smidge above average. I like the addition of the cookies but I do think crushed Twix would be better. I doubled the pineapple and used 1 15 oz can oranges. I will double the oranges next time too as there was plenty of the creamy stuff for extra fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I just made this for the first time to serve at family dinner tonight. I took a spoonful to taste it before putting in the fridge to set, and before adding the cookies (right before serving). OMG - its' delicious! I don't think it even needs the cookies - although the whole point of my trying this was to use up some of the Christmas cookies that I have around. This one's a new 'keeper'! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Hmmm.... Looks like my three star review is the exception here. I wasn't a fan of this at all. The concept appealed to me (and I've had a sweet tooth lately), so I whipped up a small (half) batch to appease my curiousity. While not terrible, I wouldn't make this again. If offered on a buffet, I might give this another go, but there would have to be quite a few less favorite dishes offered for me to do so. The star ingredient is what actually turned me off. Whether crunchy or softened, cookie bits in ANY salad are out of place, IMHO. I guess I'd just rather have my cookies with milk - as they should be eaten. :) Thanks anyways, JT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Love this recipe! I am just a college student and this is so easy for me to make and take to gatherings. It does not take long and is now something I make just because it sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I wasn't going to make this. I kept going back & forth. It seemed so odd to me, but I was so intrigued..it was awesome! I used a little less puddingmix...maybe 2/3 a pakg (for a halved recipe) I will definately be making this again. Update: I made this again but did not have buttermilk. I used the vinegar/milk trick to compensate...it was NOT the same. I would not recommend doing this...so much better with real buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wowser! I made this for my church's coffee house and they seved it in parfait cups, huge hit! Great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessann4Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad. I thought the oranges and the vanilla pudding went together very nicely. The cookies also gave it more flavor and a nice crunchy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Joshua Gaytan - I Actually Liked It. I Liked The Vanilla Pudding That Was In It And The Mandarin. Putting Cookies In It And It Looked Even Better. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
it turned out really well and tasted really good, but we didn't put the pineapples in instead we only did the mandarin oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elvira Gaytan Cavazos
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
i think is came out very good. i like the taste of the cookies and the mandarin oranges ! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Gaytan Cavazos
Living In: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States