Cookie Press Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellant! Very easy to make....melt in you mouth cookie! Just need to find a better cookie press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a great egg-free cookie press cookie recipe. They melt in your mouth, delicious little cookies. We make these for holidays (especially Christmas). I have had no problems with this dough. Note to those who have struggled: Sometimes I think people don't wait long enough for the butter/sugar to cream together before adding in the flour. It should be well incorporated, fluffy before the flour is added. I usually do use my hands to bring it together in the end - massage it a little and add to the cookie press. Don't despair if you have crumbs; just massage it, it will come together and you'll be able to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Delicious, too sticky for press - Needs more Flour and Confec Sugar like another use suggested. (1/4 C each)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was not impressed by this recipe. The texture was okay however, they tasted very bland. I noticed a few of the other reviews agreed. If anyone has a suggestion, I am all ears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Perfect shortbread recipe! Just be careful they can get over cooked fast! One min you think they need to be in a bit longer and then the next you wished you would have checked sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This isn't my favoriate type of dessert, but everyone who likes shortbread loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Can you say "Walkers"? Because these are pretty darn close to that famous Scottish shortbread! These are more delicate and not as saturated with butter flavor as Walkers, but I actually liked these better. I had no issues with making them whatsoever and followed the recipe to a "T". Room temperature butter is essential, I think. For those who say this is not sweet or does not have much flavor, shortbread is not a sweet cookie. It is a butter cookie with a hint of sweet. And I thought the butter flavor came through very well. I used a cookie press which worked as well with this dough as it does for spritz cookies. I also rolled some into little balls and pressed them down with my finger making a thick disc. That also worked well. Thank you for the shortbread cookie recipe I have been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I just made these. The texture is great but they definitely need something. Not at all sweet, very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
"Quick"?? No. It took 45 minutes to get the dough together, I nearly burned out my mixer and then the time to press" TIPS - butter must be SOFT. Add flour gradually. If too stiff for mixer, finish mixing flour by hand.You might need a little less flour, because butter varies in amount of water it contains. Shortbread has buttery taste, & using confectionery sugar & corn starch should give a melt-in-your-mouth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This makes a good consistency but I have made much better tasting from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States