Cookie Press Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written. Very good tasting, and very easy to work through my press. I have an old cookie press from 1970 - made by Sears. This will be my go to spritz recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It tasted raw and took forever to cook it needs more flavor there was too much flour along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I am hugely disappointed with this recipe. I followed it exactly and the dough was impossible to work with. The taste was just okay. We ended up with one ugly batch of cookies that wouldn't come off my cookie sheets. Will have to dig up my mom's recipe from when I was a kid - those were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Sorry, I didn't care for these cookies -- maybe they need a flavored icing, because they just didn't have any taste on their own?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I don't have a cookie press, but i formed my shapes with cookie cutters and at first i didn't have high hopes because mine didn't turn out so "pretty", but they were absolutely delicious!! i normally can stop at one cookie, but i had 3!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
these were very easy to make, and worked well with my cookie press.We didn't care for the first batch.They looked perfect, they just weren't sweet cookies.We made a second batch and frosted them,it was just what we wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elodiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Followed the recipe pretty much exactly (except didn't brush tops with egg white/water mix) and these are buttery and easy to use with my pampered chef cookie press. This is thrilling! They are not an overly sweet cookie, but that is how spritz cookies are and how I like them. These are light and delicate, and even the shapes that usually fall apart didn't. Easy to decorate too with sprinkles or sugar. I did not chill the dough at all, just mixed and started pressing, then decorated and baked for 12 minutes on my PC stones. My husband taste-tested the dough and couldn't stop. I don't have a heavy-duty mixer, so it was a little tough doubling the recipe with my standard size bowl and mixer. I will probably use a larger size bowl or do two separate batches next time. I couldn't find my usual recipe and chose this one from the reviews - I think I've found my new go-to spritz cookie recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
teast good but didn't work for pamper chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Taste was rather bland. Definitely too much flour for my taste. Also did not work well in my Wilton cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I read the other reviews and this worked well for me: 1. I increased the white sugar to 1 1/3 c plus 1/4 c powdered sugar. 2. Used one whole egg and one yoke, with no 2T of water. 3. Added 1/4 t of both nutmeg and cinnamon. 4. Added 2 t of butter flavoring. 5. Specifically did not chill the dough. I have a Pampered Chef cookie press and the dough has to be a uniform, sticky texture. If this dough is chilled (like, if you have something better to do first) then make sure you work the dough with your hands to make sure it is all smooth before using. 6. I don't like putting egg whites on the tops of cookies, so remember that if you don't do this, the cookies will not turn brown on top. So don't wait for that to happen before taking them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindadeeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States