Cookie Press Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I read the other reviews and this worked well for me: 1. I increased the white sugar to 1 1/3 c plus 1/4 c powdered sugar. 2. Used one whole egg and one yoke, with no 2T of water. 3. Added 1/4 t of both nutmeg and cinnamon. 4. Added 2 t of butter flavoring. 5. Specifically did not chill the dough. I have a Pampered Chef cookie press and the dough has to be a uniform, sticky texture. If this dough is chilled (like, if you have something better to do first) then make sure you work the dough with your hands to make sure it is all smooth before using. 6. I don't like putting egg whites on the tops of cookies, so remember that if you don't do this, the cookies will not turn brown on top. So don't wait for that to happen before taking them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindadeeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The dough worked great on my cookie press without chilling it. The only complaint was the taste. It wasnt as sweet as I would have hoped. Going to alter it a bit and see the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I loved it, but it could use some gingerbread spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Not really what I thought of when I thought butter cookies. This recipe is VERY bland and not very good at all....I had to put frosting on the cookies to even make them eatable...The texture is more like a pastry than a cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My kids love these. It didn't work for me with my cookie press (it's broken) so I used cookie cutters and it was fine. I make these often so the kids can decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marimarbella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I found the recipe to be okay, a little bland, but with a butter icing for sugar cookies, some colorful decorating sugar, and Cake-mate Scribblers, these are definatley delicious. A few things I did differently: recipe needed a little more butter, a little less flour, and about 1/4 cup more sugar. I cut them with cookie cutters but made them very thick, baked them for less time 7-10 minutes. Didnt use the 2 tbsp. water in the egg whites, and sprinkled granulated sugar on top before baking. They were really good like that but I would never make them with no icing--> too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I tried this recipe and, although it was tasty batter, it was way too firm to press out. It jammed my cookie press and I had to give up and just form the dough into balls to bake. They were yummy, but not what I'd planned to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These had great flavor, to me, but the end texture was strange to me...almost pasty. I never have very good luck with a cookie press and this recipe wasn't really any easier to work with than past recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is just like my family's recipe, which I could not find for the life of me. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSWalls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. The only changes that I made to the recipe was I used salted butter, and I did not chill the dough at all. I thought I'd try this recipe for a Christmas Cookie Exchange I'm attending tonight. I couldn't help but eat more than I needed. Thank you for the recipe. As for flavor, I'm not sure what the complaint was about. These are VERY buttery and they just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States