Cookie Paints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
It ran off the cookies and made a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Well, I tried this recipe and we found it to be, I'm sorry, very tasteless. Also, it's thin and runs off the cookie as it has nothing to hold it together. Like a base. I do not like sounding so harsh but I feel I need to be honest here as I like to know myself before I make a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have not tried this yet but I feel like this would be a great idea for making colors to paint on top of a thin icing like the sugar cookie icing on this site specially cute snowmen. I will try and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
OK, this cannot be all of the ingredients unless the poster meant Condensed milk instead of evaporated milk..... there has to be other ingredients for consistency. I think something was forgotten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My siblings and I used to do this with our Mom when we were kids. It isn't supposed to add more flavor to the cookies, it is actually a better way to decorate them without adding extra sugar which works for me as my youngest boy doesn't need any extra. So yes, this is all the ingredients, there is nothing missing at all. It is fun to do and the cookies come out shiny and painted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Sorry, thought this was a great idea. However, didn't have much success with mine. It was so runny that no paintbrush could really control where the color was going. Might work well as a "stain" to color some light color cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this years back. You do use evaporated milk, and it does work. It's best to make the paint quite pale, as it gets much darker after baking. Brush it on THINLY, letting it sink into the cookie. It's true that it's hard to get fine details. You might want to use a toothpick to paint if you want to make eyes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States