Cookie Mix in a Jar VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We made this recipe for ourselves, so it didn't get packed in a jar. It is a great recipe for little kids to help with and mix the dough with their hands. Like others, I found the dough to be too dry following the recipe instructions. I added some milk until the dough held together to shape into balls, and the cookies turned out fine. A great alternative to traditional straight-up peanutbutter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jerimax
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars because i had to make a few changes. Because of the super dry consistency of the original mix, I added about half a cup of milk to give it a nicer cookie consistency. I cooked them a few minutes longer, but they made for a super yummy chocolate peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerimax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was really sugary! The dough was like powder. The cookie was as hard as a rock. I don't know if I made it wrong or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ST. GEORGE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It would have tasted much better without the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was a great gift! And it makes very tasteful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I tried this recipe last night. I did add 1/4c of butter to help the mix stay together- because it did seem a little crumbly. The cookies turned out amazing. I only made a dozen and rolled the rest into loaves so I could make them quick for a get together later this week. I will definetly be making these as gifts for friends and family this year. Thanks for another wonderful recipe! I also like Cookie Mix in a Jar VI & VIII.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DigitalGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is a clever idea for a gift, however, (and I'm not sure this is why the dough was so dry) I used chunky peanut butter and the result was dry, crmbly dough that made dry, crumbly cookies. For the second batch, I used enough milk to make a typical cookie dough consistency. These turned out much better. Definitely make them before you give them away to see if they work out better for you than they did for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Excellent cookies! I was searching for a good chocolate peanut butter cookie and found this. I didn't even make the mix; I just made cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
GREAT COOKIE. WORKS WELL AS A FREEZER COOKIE TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States