Cookie Mix in a Jar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The cookies tasted great! And looked wonderful in the jar. A little trouble fitting it all into the jar. I cut back the chocolate chips to 1 cup and lessened the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. My son has a dairy allergy so we subbed soy margarine for the butter. It made 36 good sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We received this as a gift and it is one of the best chocolate chip cookie recipes I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
For all of the people acting like kids and arent using their brains, you CAN fit five cups into a four cup jar! It is simple, you PACK the ingredients down very tight, then you have a lot of room for your ingredients!!! In my opinion, this is a VERY good recipie and very delicious! They are very cute and easy, and perfect for gifts! I made 12 of these as CUTE Christmas gifts and everyone loved them! I would reccomend you try this out and make sure you put your ingredients in this order: first PACK down your flour in the jar, then PACK your brown sugar, then sugar, then you should have pleanty of room for your chocolate chips! ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Ok there is no way you can fit all the ingredients in the jar do the math five cups do not fit into a four cup jar. its to late after you start putting the ingredients in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I literally just made these and they are very yummy!! They do turn out to be pretty crisp, but the are still a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
You need to pack, pack, and pack the ingredients! Packing the flour first is the key. I also found that making the layers higher on the sides and sloping inward allowed for the ingredients to pack better. Another tip I have is add the chocolate chips last and add them slowly-- spread them to the walls of the jar and pack them in little by little or you will find they don't all fit. Also, many people commented that the cookies come greasy or flat- We found using 1 stick of unsalted butter not 1 cup of unsalted butter gave better results. We made 72 of these jars for a baby shower as favors and they were a huge hit! They do require quite a bit of work to make its not a quick and easy task as one might expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
simple and quick to put together I took about an hour and a half for 12 jars. I didn't bother mixing in the salt and baking soda with the flour, I just tossed it on top of the flour. I also adjusted the amount of flour, brown sugar and white sugar to make it the same as the toll house recipe. 2 1/4 cups of flour and 3/4 cups of each sugars. I also layered it 1 1/4 cups of flour with baking soda and salt tossed on top, then brown sugar, remaining cup of flour and then white sugar and topped with M&M's or chocolate chips. You'll need to increase the eggs to 2 in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Awesome! Perfect christmas present it was cheap to make and everyone got a little gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I used the called for size jars, exact amounts and packed down the ingredients a lot and there still wasn't enough space for all the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I didn't have any problems. I baked some of the cookies too and they were yummy!! I put the flour first. Then the teaspoon of salt and teaspoon of baking soda. Next, the brown sugar, packed!! Then the white sugar so it wouldn't seep through. Then finally on top the chocolate chips. I also put caramel bits (YUMM!) and in some pecans or M&M's, or peanut butter bites. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! Maybe one of these days I'll post a pic! The only thing is I wish the colorful M&M's or chocolate chips could have been down lower in the jar to see the colors..may try that with the m&m's then put brown sugar on top...I don't know...anyway, it worked great for me!:) Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States