Cookie Jar Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These turned out perfectly. You can vary the texture from crunch to soft simply by rolling the dough thinner or thicker respectively. Somesprinkled colored sugar before baking was enought to give them some color and character. My husband's unit ate them all at their first formation and now wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added a couple Tbsp heavy cream to bring the mix together. It rolled out beautifully without refrigerating it. Scraps pulled together great too. I just wasn't happy with the taste which was frustrating because of all the work the kids did cutting out shapes and decorating. It was a fun project though, and the recipe made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I tried this recipe for the firs time this weekend. I lost my mom's recipe and was in a pinch looking for a replacement. These were okay. Overall the taste was fine but the dough was crumbly and hard to work with. It seemed to be more of a shortbread mix than a sugar cookie mix. I had to frost all the cookies just to make the sweet. I would probably not make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I get all my ingredients together from the list before I start mixing. Very confusing to have some ingredients show only in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
First off, let me just say that I have made A LOT of sugar cookies in the past couple weeks searching for the best recipe. These win hands down. The dough was easy to work with, and they retain their shape extremely well. I don't think I even had to refrigerate the dough. I found that I liked them better rolled thicker because they retain their softness that way, but that is just a personal preference. Thanks for the recipe, I plan on doing about 6 dozen for a halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This receipe seems to be all over the place. The ingredients are not all listed. Need to add the sour cream and egg on there somewhere under ingredients. Other wise this is a really great receipe. yummy. I did not freeze or refrigerate the dough either and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela loves to bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Much better than your average sugar cookies! I realized at the last minute that I didn't have sour cream so I replaced it with cream cheese. It gave it a lovely zing. I found that if you divide the dough in half and flatten it before refrigerating, that you only need to chill it for about an hour. No problem with crumbling as others have stated. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Best sugar cookie recipe ever! Everyone who has tried them loves them! Added a sugar frosting with almond extract (powder sugar + almond extract + water) or lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Oh my goodness!!!! How good, how tasty!!! Add a little frosting and you have a wonderful, very festive, christmas-y cookie! Great git for friends or family, or even start your own cookie exchange!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Gal 12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I too looked all through this site and decided on this recipe. I cut the ingredients in half and made a small batch. Fantastic! Great flavor! Quick and easy to make! I frosted them with a whipped buttercream frosting and lightly sprinkled with colored sugar. I will definitely use the full recipe for my sugar cookies! I plan on making up a few jars for myself, family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States