Cookie Jar Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
i hate to even rate this recipe, because i'm sure it was my fault: all these 5 star ratings, but my cookies came out lousy *has* to be down to my poor technique, but i don't know what i did wrong!!! i measured precisely, followed the directions, and they came out like little balls of sand---tasteless, no crunch, sandy texture...the only thing i changed was to increase the ginger to a tbsp...my "dough" was *very very* dry and sandy---i had to work like heck to mold them into anything resembling a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nate1-1996
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
We loved them we doubled it and it made 30 to 40 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Fabulous flavor! I might add a little nutmeg next time. Cookies are crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, just as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
lacking ginger taste. next time, will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vinav.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great- loved them. Do not bake the full 15 minutes unless you want crunchy cookies. 12 minutes is better for a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is awesome .. Thanks .. All my kids ... 12, 6, and 2 love them. It was very easy! I did take others advice and cooking them for 12 minutes worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINKL4U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I did end up with about 5dz as opposed to the 18 it originally said I would have. It's going in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Just made these and they're delicious! My tweaks - dash of cayenne I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening I mixed nutmeg in my dusting sugar Terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wonderful gingersnap recipe. I have made these several times and they are so good. I do double the ginger and add a little extra cinnamon. For a little extra zing, I add about 1/2 tsp. black pepper. These are great. And don't use butter, they will spread out too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Had to cook for 9 min, first batch ended up too dark and ended up in the garbage. I do believe however my oven is 25 degrees higher than it should be. Wonderful taste! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States