Cookie Jar Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
i hate to even rate this recipe, because i'm sure it was my fault: all these 5 star ratings, but my cookies came out lousy *has* to be down to my poor technique, but i don't know what i did wrong!!! i measured precisely, followed the directions, and they came out like little balls of sand---tasteless, no crunch, sandy texture...the only thing i changed was to increase the ginger to a tbsp...my "dough" was *very very* dry and sandy---i had to work like heck to mold them into anything resembling a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nate1-1996
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
We loved them we doubled it and it made 30 to 40 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Fabulous flavor! I might add a little nutmeg next time. Cookies are crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, just as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
lacking ginger taste. next time, will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vinav.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great- loved them. Do not bake the full 15 minutes unless you want crunchy cookies. 12 minutes is better for a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is awesome .. Thanks .. All my kids ... 12, 6, and 2 love them. It was very easy! I did take others advice and cooking them for 12 minutes worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINKL4U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I did end up with about 5dz as opposed to the 18 it originally said I would have. It's going in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Just made these and they're delicious! My tweaks - dash of cayenne I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening I mixed nutmeg in my dusting sugar Terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wonderful gingersnap recipe. I have made these several times and they are so good. I do double the ginger and add a little extra cinnamon. For a little extra zing, I add about 1/2 tsp. black pepper. These are great. And don't use butter, they will spread out too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Had to cook for 9 min, first batch ended up too dark and ended up in the garbage. I do believe however my oven is 25 degrees higher than it should be. Wonderful taste! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States