Cookie Dough for Ice Cream (Eggless) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I got to try this recipe both ways... exactly how it was written and w/ the suggestions. Trust me... DO THE SUGGESTIONS!!! I followed the first batch exactly (just adding mini choc chips) and it was very watery and stickly like others said. The taste was ok but nothing special. I probably would of been fine w/ it but it didn't make that much specially after everyone picked at it to give it a try. So I decided to make another batch and this time I tried out the suggestions. OMG Everyone LOVED the second batch!!!! My kids didn't even want to use the first batch anymore so I threw it out. The second batch not only tasted better but it also came out more like cookie dough and it wasn't sticky at all. I doubled the recipe so we could pick at it and still have plently to add to my vanilla icecream. This is how I made it: 5 TBS BROWN SUGAR, 6 TBS SUGAR, 4 TBS BUTTER SOFTENED, 1 TEAS VANILLA, 3 TBS WHOLE MILK, 1 CUP FLOUR, 1/2 TEAS SALT, 1/2 CUP MINI CHOC CHIPS. This was enough to make 24 small melon ball size of chunks that I've put in the freezer.. When ready to add to my icecream I just cut each ball into forths and it was the perfect cookie dough chunk. Definatly try this out.. I can see how this would be addicting.. I can go into the freezer at any time and take out a small ball and eat it... Ummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I followed recipe 'as is' the first time. It just seemed to be missing something. I was wanting something more like chocolate chip cookie dough and found this to be more like sugar cookies. The next time I made a couple of changes... I used all brown sugar, milk instead of water, a bit more butter and vanilla and finally added just a pinch of salt. This was superb! Will be making it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Wow! What a simple, great recipe. Based on the other reviews these are the modifications that I made: I doubled the amount of vanilla, 1 1/2 TB milk instead of water, 2 TB of brown sugar, and I added a little over a 1/4 of a cup of mini chocolate chips. When completely mixed, I wrapped it in plastic wrap, rolled it in a log, and froze it. I then sliced up the log (how you would for slice and bake cookies), and quartered each slice. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Wonderful! I loved this, but here is a suggestion for the health conscious (as I admittedly myself) who worry about fat content. Try substituting the butter for the same amount of yogurt. It tasted great! I used vanilla, but I believe plain may be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars as it's written. I followed the recipe exactly the first time - although it wasn't bad, I definitely felt like it was missing something. Just wasn't like the real thing. Well after tweaking it just a little, I've found that what it's missing is some salt and a little baking soda (that's what really makes it taste like "normal" cookie dough). I also used milk instead of water, but used less of it the second time around, just until it had the right consistency. With these changes it was definitely a 5-star recipe - I couldn't tell the difference between that and regular cookie dough! It's kind of dangerous actually ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
A wonderful addition to a bowl of ice cream (if you can stop eating it plain!). I used milk instead of water, doubled the vanilla and added 1/2 cup mini semi sweet chocolate chips. I put the mixture on a piece of plastic wrap and formed a log/loaf after sealing the wrap. I also dusted the cut pieces with powdered sugar to help prevent sticking when I put the pieces in a container to store in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
ooooohhhh...soooo good! I actually quadruple this recipe, and then scoop it out onto a cookie sheet in small little heaps, as if you were going to bake it, but then put it in the freezer.If you can hold off on eating them all, they will last for about 2 weeks in a freezer safe container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This recipe is absolutely AMAZING! I don't know why I never thought of it myself. I read every review before making it and saw that alot complained that it was too sweet or not too sweet, I think it is just perfect. I did however only use only 1 1/2 tablesooon of brown sugar becuase we are running low on it right now. I also used 1 tablespoon of water because alot had said it was too wattery. My cookie dough turned out perfect. Call me a pig but I think it is the perfect curl up on the couch on a rainny Saturday and pop in your fav DVD type of snack. I am such a sucker for cookie dough and this recipe is going to be used way too often in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This cookie dough was great! Didn't find any problems with it, except that there wasn't enough of it in the ice cream! next time I'll have to make a double batch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Yum! I used this recipe to make cookie dough for my homemade ice cream (I used the Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from this site) and it was fantastic! However, if you want to make that ice cream recipe with this cookie dough in it, I suggest making a double batch of dough, because one batch was not enough for my cookie-dough crazy family! This was really, really yummy, and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States