Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made these cookies for christmas, I changed it up a tad. I used Mint oreos and melted mint chocolate chips for the coating. Everyone loved them! I also made the traditional with the regular oreos and candy coating, hmmm not as good as the mint! The Candy coating makes the cookie to hard to just bite into. But i will make the mint style again! I put the oreos in my food processor and that worked perfect then cubed up the cream cheese and mixed in with a rubber spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I gave these five stars because they are simple to make, and were the hit of the christmas party. The dipping part was a little messy, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It took me a long time to get this recipe down, and was time-consuming from the start. Here's why: my food chopper can only fit 4 cookies at a time so I was already doomed from this step forward. Because this step took an hour and 20 minutes, it delayed the whole process. My suggestion? Use a larger food chopper and not a tiny one like mine. People at the New Year's Eve party loved it. I made 1.5 times the recipe and used one 8 oz. cream cheese and it turned out great. I liked it but I didn't love it. The fun part was coating and decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made these for the first time and they turned out wonderful. I used my food processor for all of the Oreos and kept about 1/4 cup to the side. I rolled the balls and refrigerated for about 15 mins and then dipped them in almond bark using my metal egg white separator. Then I sprinkled a little Oreo crumbs before they dried. Easy to make and very delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeRik
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These are good, I think they fall short of amazing, but they are good. I really don't think they taste too much different than just an oreo cookie when doing the recipe as written. To make them easier to dip I froze the dough. I had zero problem that way. While they are yummy, they cost me about nine dollars to make, so I don't know if I'll make them again or next time use my money on a different dessert. I do like this dessert because it is easy to eat just one and feel like you've had enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this with my mom's help (I went to her house and she watched the baby while I made these) this past saturday. Super easy. I didnt break out my mom's food processor, but with a rolling pin and a ziplock bag, I didnt need one. One suggestion though if you're crushing the cookies by hand, scrape off the cream filling and sit it aside. I did do this the first time around and what a mess inside the ziplock bag did it make. Second time, I scraped the cream filling off each cookie. After my cookies were crushed, I added the filling AND the cream cheese to the crumbs. Then just mixed everything together by hand. Easy Peasy! The bark I used came in its own tray to melt it in the microwave. Had just enough melted bark leftover to cover some pretzels with! These were so tasty, I had to take the container away from my mom, or else she would have made off with an entire batch! They are that Tasty! :D Saving this in my holiday treat file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made the mistake of using "triple/double" oreos. What a mess! They taste super good but was very difficult to roll. I had to refrigerate them quite awhile to get them to set. I rolled them in white choc bark. Ummmm good but very messy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I loved them! I knew enough to put the balls in the freezer on a cookie sheet like many other recipes that are similar (peanut butter chocolate balls). I used the food processor and then sprinkled in some sea salt to cut the super sweetness. It really did the trick! I used the bulk chocolate from the supermarket as it's better than chips or almond bark (Belgian)and melted in a double boiler. I would add some wax next time to the chocolate to add a bit of thickness and sheen, about the size of a lipstick per batch. That works with well with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09
Home Town: Deerfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These wre a big hit!!! Everyone said I didn't make enough,out of all the cookies I made they were the first gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April M Hagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Ok if I can do this, anyone can! I made it according to directions. I was confused by comments that recommended not using the whole bar of cream cheese because without that, I couldn't get the dough consistentcy needed. I also did not even taste the cream cheese, so perhaps they were using a different type of cream cheese. The possibilities are endless with this recipe! Hmm what about nutter butter cookies with strawberry cream cheese? PB & J cookies? These taste fantastic and will be my new go to recipes. FYI I found using a small spoon much easier than the fork to roll the balls around in the chocolate. Also I used almond bark as other suggested, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States