Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
When I originally submitted this recipe, I included several tips for easy dipping which were apparently edited out,like crushing cookies in the blender, chilling shaped balls before dipping, etc. Looks like most people figured it out on their own though! Any leftover white bark coating is great mixed with a little peanut butter and dropped in small wafers on waxed paper to harden. They may stay slightly soft but just melt in your mouth, mmmm... These are also great made with peanut butter sandwich cookies (cheap store brand work great)and using creamy peanut butter for part of the cream cheese and dip in milk chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
785 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Ok--I had great hopes for this recipe and as far as taste--they can't be beat. But, when it comes to making balls and dipping them--I'm a total failure. So I made it easier--I melted the chocolate and coated the bottom of a candy paper (like Reese's PB Cups) and then put the ball in and covered it with chocolate. Much faster, better to look at than the balls with dripping chocolate everywhere and the taste is the same! Great recipe!!! No need for chilling the dough when you do it this way either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
OK...I stuck to the recipe...I used a processer to grind the cookies (you can eat 3 oreos before processing). I mixed in the cream cheese and put it in the frig. I made lots of small balls. I had to use more of the vanilla candy coating (ALSO CALLED ALMOND BARK). If my wife had not told me to look for Almond Bark I would not have found it. Anywho...gggreattt. Fantastic. I took some to work so I would not get even fatter and many said they were the best of all time! Fairly easy, very good, very fattening, tell the pig at work that they are cut off at five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
These should be renamed "Cookies and Cream Truffles" Do definately use the food processor: Throw all the sandwich cookies in the processor, puree, then throw in the softened cream cheese, let it go until is completely mixed. Then refridgerate the dough! You can make perfect balls in you do this. I roll the balls, place them on wax paper on a tray in the freezer while I roll more. Then I dip the chilled balls. It's not very speedy but they look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I've been making these for years - I call them "Oreo Truffles". I also drizzle melted milk chocolate over them for presentation (which also hides any mistakes you've made when dipping). I have also made them dipped in milk chocolate, drizzled with white chocolate -they're very pretty. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Took these to our Christmas party. Everyone loved them and wanted the recipe. Dipped mine in white candy coating and placed in red mini cupcake papers on green dish. Looked like a lot of work but was simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These are Awesome. Change it up a litle by using chocolate almond bark (candy coating) and mint flavored cookies. Great for holiday parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Walton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Wonderful!!!! I have made them 3 times already and everyone loves them. I even had a 16 year old boy ask me for the recipe. I rolled the balls and then put them in my freezer for 15 - 20 minutes. When you dip them in the white chocolate they don't fall apart and the chocolate sets up very fast. Try them you'll love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
THESE SOUND LIKE A COOKIE I WOULD LIKE TO MAKE DUING THE HOLIDAYS BUT COULD YOU GIVE THE DIRECTIONS ON HOW TO MAKE THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
These little balls of chocolate goodness are great. And so easy. No one believed that they were so easy to do. I did refrigerate the mix before I made the balls. I used a Pampered Chef small cookie scoop. And I let the balls get cold before I dipped them. I can't wait to put these on a Christmas cookie tray!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States